Charity Impact Media

Home › Community improvement & capacity building

Eastern Maine Development Corporation

Bangor, ME · EIN 01-0281875 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Eastern Maine Development Corporation reported $12.9 million in revenue and $12.3 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $90.88 went to program services, $9.12 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 88.9% of the total. Government grants made up 86.7%. Revenue rose 216% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12M

For context, the median across 479 covered community improvement & capacity building charities: $90.45 programs, $9.31 management, $0.24 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 479 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
90.9%89.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
9.1%9.2%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
88.9%80.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
86.7%14.9%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
10.2%11.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$291,103
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.49%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported5
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
10.89.2
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
12 of 12100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
— expenses

Municipal Planning The Municipal Planning Assistance Program MPAP was set up under the Maines Department of Agriculture Conservation and Forestry. It is implemented through EMDCs Regional Planning Commission RPC. The RPC provides municipal technical assistance services as well as comprehensive plan and land use ordinance development services to all towns within the Penobscot and Piscataquis and some of Waldo Counties. During 2023 the RPC staff provided technical assistance to 14 municipalities ranging from land use queries, ordinance development, code enforcement guidance, and MRSA Title 30-A…

$11M all other programs (line 4d)

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$20M$40M$60M$80MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$13M$12M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$13M$12M90.9%$11M—
FY2024 ⓘ$11M$10M91.3%$10M—
FY2023 ⓘ$6.5M$6.7M83.9%$9.4M—
FY2022 ⓘ$11M$11M93.5%$9.9M—
FY2021 ⓘ$65M$61M97.7%$9.3M$115,507
FY2020 ⓘ$4.1M$4.1M76.8%$5.5M$110,075

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b12 · 12 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5264

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Eastern Maine Development Corporation totaling $75,000 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Eastern Maine Development Corporation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Eastern Maine Development Corporation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All community improvement & capacity building charities · Largest charities in Maine

Questions people ask

How much of Eastern Maine Development Corporation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, Eastern Maine Development Corporation reported that 90.9% of its $12.3 million in expenses went to program services, 9.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Eastern Maine Development Corporation get its money?

Of $12.9 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, 88.9% came from contributions and grants (including 86.7% from government grants) and 10.2% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Eastern Maine Development Corporation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 01-0281875 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, object 202602309349301390 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, object 202511899349300111 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2023, object 202442269349300539 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2022, object 202322199349301017 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2021, object 202202219349300805 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2020, object 202132539349301408 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 01-0281875: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.