Charity Impact Media

Home › Housing & shelter

United Residents in Academy Homes II

Roxbury, MA · EIN 04-3298613 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2025 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

United Residents in Academy Homes II reported $12.9 million in revenue and $7.8 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $87.77 went to program services, $12.23 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 4.7% of the total. Revenue rose 92% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $7.8M

For context, the median across 933 covered housing & shelter charities: $89.27 programs, $10.73 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2025 filing. Median across 933 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
87.8%87.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
12.2%10.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.9%17.0%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%66.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$300,863
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.57%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
05
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
81.610.0
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
8 of 8100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$174K expenses · 2.5% of program spending

Social enrichment program- a program that provides activities for the residents

$72,123 expenses · 1.1% of program spending

Youth training and activities-helping preteen and teenagers to develop computer and research skills through exposure to media and technology

$6.6M expenses · 96.4% of program spending

Affordable housing-provideing affordable housing to low income residents

7 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M2019202020212022202320242025$13M$7.8M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2025 ⓘ$13M$7.8M87.8%$53M—
2024 (amended) ⓘ$12M$7.1M2.5%$48M—
2023 (amended) ⓘ$11M$6.5M2.0%$42M—
2022 (amended) ⓘ$9.8M$5.7M0.8%$38M—
2021 ⓘ$9.5M$4.9M0.4%$34M—
2020 ⓘ$8.9M$4.7M0.3%$29M—
2019 ⓘ$6.7M$4.0M0.0%$25M—

Governance answers, as filed

2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b8 · 8 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Largest outside contractors

2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
REFAB
Exterior building renovation
$2,316,461
VILLEGAS G & C LLC
General contractor
$1,295,903
WINN RESIDENTIAL
Management
$661,663
CENTRAL SECURITY CPS
Security
$425,122
UNITY LANDSCAPING
Landscaping services
$265,950

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 5 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from United Residents in Academy Homes II's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for United Residents in Academy Homes II, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All housing & shelter charities · Largest charities in Massachusetts

Questions people ask

How much of United Residents in Academy Homes II's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2025, United Residents in Academy Homes II reported that 87.8% of its $7.8 million in expenses went to program services, 12.2% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does United Residents in Academy Homes II get its money?

Of $12.9 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 0.9% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is United Residents in Academy Homes II a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 04-3298613 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202612439349301901 · read the filing
  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (amended), object 202630689349300743 · read the filing
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023 (amended), object 202403539349300635 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022 (amended), object 202400729349301765 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202322409349300822 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202320749349300817 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202211529349300136 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 04-3298613: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.