Davis Memorial Fund
Davis Memorial Fund reported $13.3 million in revenue and $13.3 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $96.59 went to program services, $2.64 to management and general costs and $0.77 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.6% of the total. Revenue rose 120% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $13MFor context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 96.6% | 87.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 2.6% | 11.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.8% | 0.2% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.01 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 99.6% | 20.6% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 2.4% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 70.8% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $274,992 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.18% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 6 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 3.1 | 6.9 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 4 of 4 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18Yes
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 53
- Volunteers Part I, line 616
Private foundation grants it received
32 private foundations reported grants to Davis Memorial Fund totaling $508K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Davis Memorial Fund's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Davis Memorial Fund, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Davis Memorial Fund spent in 2024, $96.59 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Brick by Brick Training & Development a New Jersey CorporationNewark, NJ · revenue $13M · programs 99.6% · 2024
- Just Compassion of East Washington CountyTigard, OR · revenue $13M · programs 88.4% · FY2025
- Greencroft Retirement CommunitiesGoshen, IN · revenue $13M · programs 80.7% · FY2025
- Northeast Kingdom Community ActionNewport, VT · revenue $13M · programs 97.4% · FY2025
- Grant Rehabilitation and Care CenterPetersburg, WV · revenue $13M · programs 88.6% · FY2025
All human services charities · Largest charities in New York
Questions people ask
How much of Davis Memorial Fund's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Davis Memorial Fund reported that 96.6% of its $13.3 million in expenses went to program services, 2.6% to management and general and 0.8% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Davis Memorial Fund get its money?
Of $13.3 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 99.6% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Davis Memorial Fund a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 04-3720418 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202533219349311168 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202543219349311484 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202343199349327189 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202233199349329238 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202103199349330620 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202013219349319856 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 04-3720418: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.