Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking
Wellington Management Foundation
Wellington Management Foundation reported $11.8 million in revenue and $7.4 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $97.40 went to program services, $2.08 to management and general costs and $0.52 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 75.4% of the total. Revenue rose 3% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $7.4MFor context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 97.4% | 90.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 2.1% | 6.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.5% | 1.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.01 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 24.6% | 79.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $325,675 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.56% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 66.9 | 56.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 13 of 13 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseGrants to charitable organizations - in 2024 the foundation funded 75 domestic organizations and 17 foreign organizations with grants ranging in size from $30,000 to $1,090,000. Wellington Management company llp (wmc) pays the operating expenses of the foundation and provides office space, investment advisory services and administrative support, valued at $297,241 at no charge to the foundation. During 2024, wmc paid foundation expenses that totaled $179,009
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b13 · 13 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 6150
Private foundation grants it received
6 private foundations reported grants to Wellington Management Foundation totaling $535K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Wellington Management Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Wellington Management Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Wellington Management Foundation spent in 2024, $97.40 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Cambridge Community FoundationCambridge, MA · revenue $12M · programs 77.5% · FY2025
- Wnc Bridge FoundationAsheville, NC · revenue $12M · programs 53.7% · 2024
- Roman Catholic Foundation of Eastern MissouriSt Louis, MO · revenue $12M · programs 90.5% · 2025
- Venn FoundationSaint Paul, MN · revenue $12M · programs 88.1% · 2025
- Midwest Housing Development FundOmaha, NE · revenue $12M · programs 97.7% · 2024
All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Massachusetts
Questions people ask
How much of Wellington Management Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Wellington Management Foundation reported that 97.4% of its $7.4 million in expenses went to program services, 2.1% to management and general and 0.5% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Wellington Management Foundation get its money?
Of $11.8 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 24.6% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Wellington Management Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 04-6700836 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202523179349309532 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202403209349316685 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202313199349308696 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202203189349308590 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202113199349317196 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202033189349311503 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 04-6700836: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.