Charity Impact Media

Home › Health care

Home for the Aged of the Little Sisters of the Poor

Also known as St Joseph's Residence

Enfield, CT · EIN 06-0882297 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Home for the Aged of the Little Sisters of the Poor reported $8.4 million in revenue and $7.9 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $93.51 went to program services, $5.00 to management and general costs and $1.49 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 74.5% of the total. Revenue rose 27% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $7.9M

For context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $8.4M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,634 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
93.5%85.6%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
5.0%13.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
1.5%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.07$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
19.9%1.3%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
1.8%0.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
74.5%93.7%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$975,831
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.34%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported27
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
17.46.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
5 of 588.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$7.4M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $6.3M

Provided room board and care for approximately 25,000 days of resident care during the fiscal year furthering the mission of the little sisters of the poor and in congruence with the mission of the little sisters of the poor and the roman catholic church. The value of sisters' donated services was 502,800 for the period

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$8.4M$7.9M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$8.4M$7.9M93.5%$11M—
FY2024 ⓘ$13M$7.6M92.4%$11M—
FY2023 ⓘ$6.9M$7.4M92.6%$5.5M—
FY2022 ⓘ$7.8M$7.1M93.5%$6.0M—
FY2021 ⓘ$7.3M$7.0M91.7%$5.3M—
FY2020 ⓘ$6.6M$6.6M92.1%$4.9M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5130

Private foundation grants it received

6 private foundations reported grants to Home for the Aged of the Little Sisters of the Poor totaling $37,464 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Home for the Aged of the Little Sisters of the Poor's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Home for the Aged of the Little Sisters of the Poor, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All health care charities · Largest charities in Connecticut

Questions people ask

How much of Home for the Aged of the Little Sisters of the Poor's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, Home for the Aged of the Little Sisters of the Poor reported that 93.5% of its $7.9 million in expenses went to program services, 5.0% to management and general and 1.5% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Home for the Aged of the Little Sisters of the Poor get its money?

Of $8.4 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, 19.9% came from contributions and grants (including 1.8% from government grants) and 74.5% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Home for the Aged of the Little Sisters of the Poor a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 06-0882297 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, object 202612279349300911 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, object 202532059349301318 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2023, object 202412149349301216 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2022, object 202341249349302064 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2021, object 202212149349300831 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2020, object 202141619349300809 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 06-0882297: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.