Labor and Industry for Education
Labor and Industry for Education reported $10.8 million in revenue and $6.9 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $82.44 went to program services, $17.56 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 29.9% of the total. Government grants made up 29.9%. Revenue fell 7% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $6.9MFor context, the median across 2,433 covered unclassified charities: $88.27 programs, $11.68 management, $0.05 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 82.4% | 86.7% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 17.6% | 11.5% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.01 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 29.9% | 29.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 29.9% | 3.8% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.5% | 58.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $301,601 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.38% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 6 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 40.0 | 6.8 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 7 of 7 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseEarly learn including head start, extended day/year wraparound services under the federal block grant for low income pre-school children eligible for services and full day 3k and upk 4 all under doe childcare programs
Special needs pooled trust services assisting people with medicaid eligibility. Life assists elderly and developmentally and physically disabled clients by managing their money in an irrevocable pooled income trust. Life pays bills on behalf of these clients for allowable expenses
A foreclosure prevention program designed to give free foreclosure counseling and foreclosure defense to primary house homeowners who are affected in nassau county, foreclosure denfense in the mandatory settlement part in nassau county supreme court
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 581
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Labor and Industry for Education's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Labor and Industry for Education, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Labor and Industry for Education spent in FY2025, $82.44 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Hanover Area YMCAHanover, PA · revenue $11M · programs 80.8% · 2025
- WjctJacksonville, FL · revenue $11M · programs 70.2% · FY2025
- City Mission of SchenectadySchenectady, NY · revenue $11M · programs 82.1% · FY2025
- McAuley HallWatchung, NJ · revenue $11M · programs 86.0% · 2025
- C3WELLBEINGWarwick, RI · revenue $11M · programs 95.4% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Labor and Industry for Education's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Labor and Industry for Education reported that 82.4% of its $6.9 million in expenses went to program services, 17.6% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Labor and Industry for Education get its money?
Of $10.8 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 29.9% came from contributions and grants (including 29.9% from government grants) and 0.5% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Labor and Industry for Education a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 11-4088055 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202620909349300432 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202500909349301025 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421369349311592 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022 (amended), object 202311879349301001 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202231239349301438 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202111199349301296 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 11-4088055: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.