Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

American Friends of the National Gallery London

Montclair, NJ · EIN 13-3321549 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

American Friends of the National Gallery London reported $17.9 million in revenue and $10.7 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $97.33 went to program services, $2.67 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 85.5% of the total. Revenue fell 31% between 2020 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $11M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $18M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
97.3%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
2.7%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
14.5%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
348.413.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
10 of 11100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$7.2M expenses · 68.9% of program spending · grants $7.2M

This grant was made to support the national gallery's ng200 project - celebrating 200 years of the national gallery. This grant was funded by contributions received from the deborah loeb brice foundation, david and molly lowell borthwick, georgia and david winter, diane apostolos-cappadona, monica irani, and the samuel h. Kress foundation

$1.7M expenses · 16.2% of program spending · grants $1.7M

This grant was made to support improvements to the sainsbury wing lecture theatre. This grant was funded by contributions received from the paccar foundation

$308K expenses · 3.0% of program spending · grants $308K

This grant was made to support the acquisition of the painting - "the virgin and child with saints louis, margaret and two angels"

$1.2M all other programs (line 4d)

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M20202021202220232024$18M$11M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$18M$11M97.3%$311M—
2023 ⓘ$8.0M$34M100.0%$267M—
2022 ⓘ$28M$9.5M96.3%$251M—
2021 ⓘ$2.3M$13M97.0%$305M—
2020 ⓘ$26M$2.6M76.0%$284M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b11 · 10 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Private foundation grants it received

5 private foundations reported grants to American Friends of the National Gallery London totaling $538K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from American Friends of the National Gallery London's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for American Friends of the National Gallery London, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in New Jersey

Questions people ask

How much of American Friends of the National Gallery London's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, American Friends of the National Gallery London reported that 97.3% of its $10.7 million in expenses went to program services, 2.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does American Friends of the National Gallery London get its money?

Of $17.9 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 14.5% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is American Friends of the National Gallery London a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 13-3321549 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202543109349303069 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202423189349305237 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202323039349300777 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202242999349301649 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202123069349301627 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 13-3321549: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.