Charity Impact Media

Home › International, foreign affairs & national security

Istanbul International Community School

Princeton, NJ · EIN 13-3321837 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Istanbul International Community School reported $16.0 million in revenue and $16.7 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $99.88 went to program services, $0.12 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 96.6% of the total. Revenue rose 16% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $17M

For context, the median across 469 covered international, foreign affairs & national security charities: $89.04 programs, $8.28 management, $2.68 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $16M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 469 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
99.9%86.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.1%8.0%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%2.6%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.03
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%96.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
96.6%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$341,362
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.06%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported10
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
9.07.5
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
16 of 16100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$17M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $15M

Operation of a primary and secondary school for International Community of Istanbul, Turkey. The school provides teachers and administration as well as facilities. Approximately 492 students served

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$16M$17M99.9%$13M—
FY2024 ⓘ$16M$16M99.9%$13M—
FY2023 ⓘ$14M$14M99.9%$13M—
FY2022 ⓘ$14M$12M99.8%$14M—
FY2021 ⓘ$13M$12M99.8%$12M—
FY2020 ⓘ$14M$13M99.8%$11M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b16 · 16 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Istanbul International Community School's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Istanbul International Community School, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Istanbul International Community School's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Istanbul International Community School reported that 99.9% of its $16.7 million in expenses went to program services, 0.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Istanbul International Community School get its money?

Of $16.0 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 96.6% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Istanbul International Community School a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 13-3321837 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202640169349300614 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202500179349301315 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202303409349300430 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202243479349300534 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202200839349300025 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202120439349302207 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 13-3321837: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.