Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking
Federation of Jewish Communities of the Cis
Federation of Jewish Communities of the Cis reported $54.9 million in revenue and $54.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $98.14 went to program services, $1.86 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 94.2% of the total. Revenue rose 12% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending July 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $54MFor context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending July 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $55MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 98.1% | 90.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 1.9% | 6.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 1.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 94.2% | 79.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $325,675 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.56% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 14.4 | 56.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 2 of 4 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseCulture & community centers - cultural activities often take place at federation-sponsored jewish community centers. A successful jcc is a second home, where jews of all affiliations and ages join educational and many other activities in a nurturing communal setting. Jccs host women's clubs, sports clubs, book clubs, chess clubs, singles' clubs, family clubs, business clubs, and yiddish clubs. They offer hebrew classes and discussion groups on jewish topics, such as talmud, kabbalah, medical ethics, and family law. The jccs also serve as information and education centers, including arranging…
Religious & educational services - for millions of jews who were unfailingly educated in the state doctrine of atheism, forced to grow up with no knowledge of their religion, culture or heritage, jewish education is essentially an experience of spiritual rebirth. To promote this rebirth, the federation supports more than 100 educational institutions, including jewish kindergartens, elementary schools, high schools and universities, with an aggregate enrollment of more than 7,000 students
Humanitarian aid - more than one million jews still live in the former soviet union. More than a third of them are poor, single parent families, elderly, disabled, or sick. Many lack the most basic needs, such as food, clothing and medicine. The federation supports soup kitchens and the delivery of thousands of meals to people who are unable to leave their homes, children, and needy families. It also supports the distribution of clothes and medications, medical clinics, orphanages, safe homes, assisted living, and senior activity centers for jews throughout the fsu
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 2 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
- Employees Part I, line 532
- Volunteers Part I, line 64
Private foundation grants it received
20 private foundations reported grants to Federation of Jewish Communities of the Cis totaling $7.3M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Federation of Jewish Communities of the Cis's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Federation of Jewish Communities of the Cis, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Federation of Jewish Communities of the Cis spent in FY2025, $98.14 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- ONE Tree PlantedShelburne, VT · revenue $55M · programs 84.3% · 2024
- The Fund for Charitable GivingPittsburgh, PA · revenue $55M · programs 97.1% · 2024
- Jewish Federation of Palm Beach CountyWest Palm Beach, FL · revenue $55M · programs 79.6% · FY2025
- Msi USWashington, DC · revenue $55M · programs 94.0% · 2025
- Anabaptist FoundationLewisburg, PA · revenue $54M · programs 98.4% · FY2026
All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in New York
Questions people ask
How much of Federation of Jewish Communities of the Cis's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025, Federation of Jewish Communities of the Cis reported that 98.1% of its $54.5 million in expenses went to program services, 1.9% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Federation of Jewish Communities of the Cis get its money?
Of $54.9 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025, 94.2% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Federation of Jewish Communities of the Cis a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 13-3970940 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025, object 202621669349301812 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2024, object 202501679349301880 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2023, object 202421699349301907 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2022, object 202311659349300001 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2021, object 202231659349300313 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2020, object 202111609349300016 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 13-3970940: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.