Sustainable Markets Foundation
Sustainable Markets Foundation reported $47.5 million in revenue and $41.3 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $98.16 went to program services, $1.84 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 91.1% of the total. Revenue rose 102% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $41MFor context, the median across 371 covered environment charities: $85.82 programs, $10.80 management, $3.38 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $48MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 98.2% | 83.6% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 1.8% | 10.5% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 3.3% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.03 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 91.1% | 87.6% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 4.8% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 3.2% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $293,532 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.74% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 7 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 16.0 | 18.8 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 3 of 3 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseClean energy & just transition - a program to educate the public about the need for an energy sector that is safe and healthy for everyone, including the need for just and equitable transitions which protect workers, communities, and economies
Pollution prevention - a program to research and educate the public on the need for bold action to prevent pollution. Activities include dissemination of public education materials through the media, online, and by holding public events to raise awareness of the impact of pollution
Environmental conservation - a program to research and educate the public on the importance of protecting the environment, conserving natural resources, recycling, and preservation of clean air, water, and natural ecosystems
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 675
Largest outside contractors
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| Our Next Economy LLC Project Management | $6,000,000 |
| Drive Agency LLC Outreach Development | $4,940,000 |
| Working Power Impact Fund 1 LLC Outreach Development | $1,330,000 |
| Social Currant LLC Outreach Development | $310,000 |
| Anita Nayar Project Management | $260,567 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 36 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
52 private foundations reported grants to Sustainable Markets Foundation totaling $16M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Sustainable Markets Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Sustainable Markets Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Sustainable Markets Foundation spent in FY2025, $98.16 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Grid AlternativesOakland, CA · revenue $47M · programs 72.3% · 2024
- Great Barrier Reef Foundation USAWashington, DC · revenue $48M · programs 99.7% · FY2025
- Grid Alternatives Affiliates & SubsidiariesOakland, CA · revenue $46M · programs 85.5% · 2024
- The Living DesertPalm Desert, CA · revenue $48M · programs 88.0% · FY2025
- The Conservancy of Southwest FloridaNaples, FL · revenue $45M · programs 70.5% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Sustainable Markets Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, Sustainable Markets Foundation reported that 98.2% of its $41.3 million in expenses went to program services, 1.8% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Sustainable Markets Foundation get its money?
Of $47.5 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, 91.1% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Sustainable Markets Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 13-4188834 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, object 202611969349302621 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2024, object 202521969349303202 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2023, object 202441979349302444 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2022, object 202301989349300215 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2021, object 202211969349302761 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2020, object 202111969349302651 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 13-4188834: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.