Charity Impact Media

Home › Housing & shelter

The Church Aid of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the Town of S/S

Also known as Home of the Good Shepherd

Saratoga Springs, NY · EIN 14-1338349 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

The Church Aid of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the Town of S/S reported $28.5 million in revenue and $27.9 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $89.90 went to program services, $10.10 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 99.5% of the total. Revenue rose 21% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $28M

For context, the median across 933 covered housing & shelter charities: $89.27 programs, $10.73 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $28M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 933 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
89.9%87.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
10.1%10.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%17.0%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
99.5%66.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$300,863
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.57%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported5
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
1.410.0
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$25M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $28M

To provide adult home services to the frail elderly who want to remain in their community as they age. The organization currently operates five adult homes/assisted living residences in saratoga county, ny. The five adult homes consist of adult living residences and enhanced living residences. An adult home is licensed by the nys department of health to serve as a basic adult living residence ("basic alr"). Basic alr is designed to meet the individual's social and residential needs, while also encouraging and assisting with the activities of daily living. An "enhanced alr" is licensed by the…

— expenses

A person who may be eligible for enhanced alr care includes a person with severe arthritis who needs help with meals and walking, or is confined to a wheel chair. A person in need of 24-hour medical care or skilled nursing care is not eligible for enhanced alr care. One of the five adult homes of the organization has been licensed by the nys department of health to serve as a special needs adult living residence. A special needs adult living residence serves people with special needs, such as alzheimer's disease or other types of dementia. This facility adds much needed beds to the system and…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$28M$28M89.9%$3.3M—
2023 ⓘ$28M$27M89.8%$2.8M—
2022 ⓘ$26M$25M88.0%$1.6M—
2021 ⓘ$26M$23M90.1%−$87,109—
2020 ⓘ$24M$23M90.7%−$2.1M—
2019 ⓘ$24M$23M92.5%−$2.3M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5666
  • Volunteers Part I, line 67

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from The Church Aid of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the Town of S/S's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The Church Aid of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the Town of S/S, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of The Church Aid of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the Town of S/S's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, The Church Aid of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the Town of S/S reported that 89.9% of its $27.9 million in expenses went to program services, 10.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does The Church Aid of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the Town of S/S get its money?

Of $28.5 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 99.5% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is The Church Aid of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the Town of S/S a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 14-1338349 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202533229349302908 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202423229349300402 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202303199349322320 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202213189349301761 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202113169349307841 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202023219349314122 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 14-1338349: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.