Home › Diseases, disorders & medical disciplines
World Federation of Hemophilia USA
World Federation of Hemophilia USA reported $1.10 billion in revenue and $1.15 billion in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $99.98 went to program services, $0.01 to management and general costs and $0.01 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Revenue rose 175% between 2020 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $1.15BFor context, the median across 314 covered diseases, disorders & medical disciplines charities: $88.73 programs, $10.89 management, $0.38 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $1.10BThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 100.0% | 86.7% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 10.6% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.4% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.03 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 100.0% | 24.7% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.6% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 59.5% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $391,657 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.45% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 10 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 3.9 | 7.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 12 of 12 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseThe WFH Humanitarian Aid program improves the lack of access to care and treatment by providing support to national member organizations hemophilia treatment centres and healthcare practitioners in emerging countries. This support comes in the form of education training and donated factor and non-factor replacement therapy.The reported $59.37 million deficit is primarily attributable to fluctuations in the value of donated pharmaceutical products which are recorded as in-kind revenue and expense. These are non-cash transactions impacting the total change in net assets without reflecting a…
The WFH Training and Education program provides the global bleeding disorders community with the information and tools required to improve access to diagnosis and ensure reliable access to safe treatment and care. Training and education may be delivered through healthcare development programs in-person and virtual workshops and educational events and the development and distribution of educational resources that are available in printed and electronic format. In accordance with the Collaboration agreement between WFH USA and the WFH WFH USA periodically grants contributions received to…
The WFH Research and Data Collection Program includes the Annual Global Survey the World Bleeding Disorder Registry the Gene Therapy Registry and their accompanying education and capacity-building programs. The objective of this program is to provide National Member Organizations NMOs and Hemophilia Treatment Centers HTCs with the tools to increase their capacity the framework to collect data on people with bleeding disorders and the education and training to use that data to conduct research and advocate for better care. In accordance with the Collaboration Agreement between the WFH USA and…
5 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b12 · 12 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 613
Private foundation grants it received
1 private foundation reported grants to World Federation of Hemophilia USA totaling $22 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from World Federation of Hemophilia USA's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for World Federation of Hemophilia USA, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 World Federation of Hemophilia USA spent in 2024, $99.98 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- American Heart AssociationDallas, TX · revenue $1.07B · programs 78.8% · FY2025
- Tempus UnlimitedStoughton, MA · revenue $2.24B · programs 99.7% · FY2025
- University Medical Center Management CorporationNew Orleans, LA · revenue $793M · programs 84.1% · 2024
- American Cancer SocietyAtlanta, GA · revenue $724M · programs 79.8% · 2024
- Central Arkansas Radiation Therapy InstituteLittle Rock, AR · revenue $621M · programs 89.5% · FY2025
All diseases, disorders & medical disciplines charities · Largest charities in New York
Questions people ask
How much of World Federation of Hemophilia USA's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, World Federation of Hemophilia USA reported that 100.0% of its $1.15 billion in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does World Federation of Hemophilia USA get its money?
Of $1.10 billion in revenue in calendar year 2024, 100.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is World Federation of Hemophilia USA a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 16-1513923 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (amended), object 202523299349300402 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443139349300109 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202342339349300209 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202222799349300702 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202231249349301843 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 16-1513923: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.