Charity Impact Media

Home › Community improvement & capacity building

Venture Michigan Fund

New York, NY · EIN 20-1443645 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Venture Michigan Fund reported $30.8 million in revenue and $1.8 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $94.37 went to program services, $5.63 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 23.1% of the total. Revenue rose 69% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $1.8M

For context, the median across 479 covered community improvement & capacity building charities: $90.45 programs, $9.31 management, $0.24 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $31M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 479 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
94.4%89.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
5.6%9.2%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%80.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%14.9%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%11.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$291,103
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.49%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
05
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
1,685.59.2
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$1.7M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

To RAISE CAPITAL AND INVEST THAT CAPITAL IN VENTURE CAPITAL FIRMS WITH THE INTENT TO BENEFIT THE STATE OF MICHIGAN'S EARLY OR SEED STAGE BUSINESSES

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$31M$1.8M94.4%$251M—
2023 ⓘ$12M$1.5M94.6%$249M—
2022 ⓘ$26M$2.2M96.0%$329M—
2021 ⓘ$100M$18M99.2%$406M—
2020 ⓘ$79M$18M99.3%$214M—
2019 ⓘ$18M$21M99.4%$76M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 67

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Venture Michigan Fund's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Venture Michigan Fund, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Venture Michigan Fund's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Venture Michigan Fund reported that 94.4% of its $1.8 million in expenses went to program services, 5.6% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Venture Michigan Fund get its money?

Of $30.8 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Venture Michigan Fund a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 20-1443645 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202543219349313649 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202433199349317183 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202313199349307081 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202203199349315025 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202143099349301284 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202003109349302510 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 20-1443645: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.