Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Extension Foundation

Kansas City, MO · EIN 20-4781422 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Extension Foundation reported $11.7 million in revenue and $10.7 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $94.84 went to program services, $5.16 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 82.1% of the total. Revenue rose 273% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $11M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
94.8%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
5.2%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
12.1%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
82.1%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported8
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
3.113.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
6 of 6100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$9.8M expenses · 96.4% of program spending · grants $4.7M

Grants supporting pesticide safety education projects and outcomes in 50 states and territories

$317K expenses · 3.1% of program spending

The ecop program committee establishes and manages a portfolio of program action teams (pats) that focus on high priority societal issues that may benefit from coordinated system-level leadership in extension programming. As such, each pat provides systemwide or multi-state leadership to programming related to a particular area of focus. Pats may focus on extensions base programs (agriculture and natural resources, family and consumer sciences, economic and community development and 4-h youth development) or on cross-cutting and timely issues related to one or more of these base programs

$27,904 expenses · 0.3% of program spending

Resource support, including sponsored meetings and initiaitves, enabling cooperative extension professionals to develop, implement, and assess current and emerging issues. Also includes support for related project devleopment and fellowships

$18,085 all other programs (line 4d)

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M20192020202120232024$12M$11M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$12M$11M94.8%$2.8M—
2023 ⓘ$7.4M$6.4M85.0%$1.8M$244,330
2021 ⓘ$11M$11M91.6%$1.8M$243,862
2020 ⓘ$3.3M$3.6M73.2%$2.2M$237,906
2019 ⓘ$3.1M$3.9M68.3%$2.5M$226,974

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b6 · 6 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Extension Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Extension Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Missouri

Questions people ask

How much of Extension Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Extension Foundation reported that 94.8% of its $10.7 million in expenses went to program services, 5.2% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Extension Foundation get its money?

Of $11.7 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 12.1% came from contributions and grants and 82.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Extension Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 20-4781422 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202523219349320952 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202403209349320910 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202243199349328339 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202113199349324281 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202043509349301529 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 20-4781422: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.