Futures in Education
Futures in Education reported $10.9 million in revenue and $7.8 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $88.02 went to program services, $7.06 to management and general costs and $4.92 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 95.2% of the total. Revenue rose 25% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $7.8MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M- Contributions & grants (non-government)$93.17 $10M
- Government grants$0.50 $54,714
- Investment income$6.33 $699K
Other revenue was negative: −$175K. The bar shows the positive sources only.
The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 88.0% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 7.1% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 4.9% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.04 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 95.2% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.5% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 24.7 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 18 of 18 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseFutures in education scholarship program makes a quality catholic education available to as many families as possible by offering partial scholarships to families in financial need of tuition assistance for students in pre-k to 8th grade enrolled in catholic grammar schools in brooklyn and queens. In 2025, the program awarded scholarships to 1,576 students for a total amount of $2,307,726
Teddy forstmannin conjunction with the children's scholarship fund (csf), the program stimulates enrollment of students from public schools into catholic schools for those families with financial need of tuition assistance in line with csf's aim to maximize educational opportunity for all children. In 2025, the programs awarded scholarships to 1,555 students for a total amount of $2,112,598
Be an angel to a student program a sponsorship program where a donor, an angel, pays a portion of the student's tuition for a family with extraordinary need to help send their children to a catholic school they love. The student sends correspondence to the angel throughout the school year, including letters, greetings and report cards. In 2025, the program awarded scholarships to 720 students for a total amount of $1,689,970
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b18 · 18 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 622
Private foundation grants it received
8 private foundations reported grants to Futures in Education totaling $1.4M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Futures in Education's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Futures in Education, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Futures in Education spent in FY2025, $88.02 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Manchester Academic Charter SchoolPittsburgh, PA · revenue $11M · programs 90.6% · FY2025
- Southern Illinois University Edwardsville FoundationEdwardsville, IL · revenue $11M · programs 79.9% · FY2025
- Penn State Alumni AssociationUniversity Park, PA · revenue $11M · programs 79.8% · FY2025
- Stepping Stones Charter ElementaryHouston, TX · revenue $11M · programs 85.5% · FY2025
- Desert Heights Charter SchoolsGlendale, AZ · revenue $11M · programs 89.3% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Futures in Education's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, Futures in Education reported that 88.0% of its $7.8 million in expenses went to program services, 7.1% to management and general and 4.9% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Futures in Education get its money?
Of $10.9 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, 95.2% came from contributions and grants (including 0.5% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Futures in Education a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 20-5496382 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, object 202601949349300505 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2024, object 202511959349300956 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2023, object 202441979349300979 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2022, object 202341989349301584 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2021, object 202201969349302270 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2020, object 202131969349301433 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 20-5496382: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.