Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Union Colony Schools

Greeley, CO · EIN 20-8681586 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Union Colony Schools reported $11.0 million in revenue and $10.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $87.07 went to program services, $12.93 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 87.0% of the total. Government grants made up 11.1%. Revenue rose 7% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $11M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
87.1%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
12.9%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
11.1%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
11.1%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
87.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
7.613.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
6 of 6100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$9.1M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $9.5M

Union Colony school involves students in educational experiences that prepare them to excel in college or other post secondary educational endeavors, by providing a cross disciplinary exchange of knowledge among core subject areas including fine arts, international languages, language arts, mathematics, science and social studies, along with a rigorous and challenging approach to thinking and learning, a strong focus on the processes and products of problem solving, and an environment which fosters connections with teachers, other students, and the community. Union Colony Schools served…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$11M$11M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$11M$11M87.1%$6.6M—
FY2024 ⓘ$11M$9.7M86.5%$6.2M—
FY2023 ⓘ$11M$10M87.1%$5.1M$108,000
FY2022 ⓘ$12M$12M89.3%$4.3M$108,000
FY2021 ⓘ$9.7M$11M89.0%$4.0M$135,164
FY2020 ⓘ$10M$9.7M87.2%$5.6M$130,702

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b6 · 6 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5104
  • Volunteers Part I, line 625

Private foundation grants it received

2 private foundations reported grants to Union Colony Schools totaling $580 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Union Colony Schools's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Union Colony Schools, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Colorado

Questions people ask

How much of Union Colony Schools's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Union Colony Schools reported that 87.1% of its $10.5 million in expenses went to program services, 12.9% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Union Colony Schools get its money?

Of $11.0 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 11.1% came from contributions and grants (including 11.1% from government grants) and 87.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Union Colony Schools a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 20-8681586 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202513499349301441 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202443549349301484 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202333529349300658 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202213509349300721 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202231369349309218 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202110089349300896 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 20-8681586: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.