Charity Impact Media

Home › Human services

Stoneridge Retirement Living

Myerstown, PA · EIN 23-1379523 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Stoneridge Retirement Living reported $19.4 million in revenue and $20.4 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $85.67 went to program services, $14.33 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 90.4% of the total. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $489,942 (PRESIDENT CEO). Revenue fell 34% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $20M

For context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $19M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 3,614 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
85.7%87.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
14.3%11.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.8%20.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%2.4%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
90.4%70.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
$489,942$274,992
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
2.40%1.18%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported6
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
25.36.9
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
3 of 4100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$18M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $18M

Skilled and Intermediate Nursing Care - Provide medical services to persons qualifying under the skilled and intermediate care definitions of the Department of Health and Human Services. Personal Care - Provide Services and facilities to persons in need of an assisted-living level of care. Independent Living - Provide services and facilities to persons living independently in apartmetns and cottages

Highest reported compensation

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here
RoleFrom this orgFrom related orgsOtherTotal
PRESIDENT CEO
Director/trustee, officer, 001.00 hrs/week
$0$476,742$13,200$489,942

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M201920202021202220232024$19M$20M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$19M$20M85.7%$43M$489,942
2023 ⓘ$20M$22M81.3%$42M$504,576
2022 ⓘ$21M$23M84.5%$42M$525,301
2021 ⓘ$26M$26M84.6%$49M$473,181
2020 ⓘ$28M$28M87.6%$46M$434,745
2019 ⓘ$29M$28M87.9%$44M$363,245

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 3 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
StoneRidge Retirement Living Communities Inc
Mgmt Services
$2,581,440
Sodexo Inc & Affiliates
Dining / Food services
$754,120
Select Rehab LLC
Therapy
$680,952
Hands on Nursing
Agency Nursing
$419,718
Precision Lawn Care
Lawncare
$205,149

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 5 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

4 private foundations reported grants to Stoneridge Retirement Living totaling $67,800 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Stoneridge Retirement Living's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Stoneridge Retirement Living, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All human services charities · Largest charities in Pennsylvania

Questions people ask

How much of Stoneridge Retirement Living's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Stoneridge Retirement Living reported that 85.7% of its $20.4 million in expenses went to program services, 14.3% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

How much does Stoneridge Retirement Living pay its top executive?

The largest total compensation Stoneridge Retirement Living reported for one person in calendar year 2024 was $489,942, for the role of PRESIDENT CEO (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).

Where does Stoneridge Retirement Living get its money?

Of $19.4 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 0.8% came from contributions and grants and 90.4% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Stoneridge Retirement Living a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 23-1379523 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202523179349308012 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443169349304439 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202343179349302604 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202203179349301620 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202143169349303139 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202023189349309522 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 23-1379523: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.