Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

The Virginia Foundation for Community College Education

Richmond, VA · EIN 23-7004354 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

The Virginia Foundation for Community College Education reported $10.2 million in revenue and $8.1 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $87.09 went to program services, $7.28 to management and general costs and $5.63 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 78.9% of the total. Government grants made up 23.6%. Revenue rose 206% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $8.1M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $10M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
87.1%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
7.3%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
5.6%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.06$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
78.9%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
23.6%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
24.413.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
21 of 22100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$3.1M expenses · 44.7% of program spending · grants $2.8M

Scholarships since 2006, the foundation has supported hundreds of students across virginia's 23 community colleges through its scholarships and fellowships program. Thanks to our generous partners, the vfcce has awarded more than $7 million in scholarships, helping students succeed and reach their educational goals. For the 2024 -25 academic year, 110 scholarships were awarded, totaling $511,250. The prestigious fellows program awards high-achieving second-year students with full scholarship support to complete associate degrees and develop leadership skills through a cohort model. Since its…

$976K expenses · 13.9% of program spending · grants $850K

The great expectations (ge) program helps young people who have navigated the foster care system complete high school, gain access and succeed in college, and transition successfully to living independently. Since the program began 17 years ago, almost 5000 students have participated with 22% earning a credential, almost 3 times the national average for students with experience in foster care.the fall 2024 to fall 2025 persistence rate for ge students was 68%, with students earning 47 associate degrees, 19 transfers to 4-year colleges and universities, and 9 fast forward workforce credentials

$689K expenses · 9.8% of program spending · grants $689K

The gerald l. Baliles rural virginia horseshoe initiative award (rvhi), established in 2014, continues the mission to raise educational attainment levels for students in rural virginia. Rvhi provides career coaches in rural high schools to encourage high school and college completion and offers financial incentives and to assist adult learners return to higher education and training.fourteen rural community colleges participate in the program. The program has two 10-year goals. One is to reduce the number of residents of the rural horseshoe region that have not earned a high school diploma by…

$2.2M all other programs (line 4d)

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$10M$8.1M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$10M$8.1M87.1%$16M—
FY2024 ⓘ$5.2M$5.7M80.3%$15M—
FY2023 ⓘ$5.0M$4.8M79.0%$15M—
FY2022 ⓘ$5.9M$3.8M76.1%$14M—
FY2021 ⓘ$3.2M$4.0M78.9%$14M$221,700
FY2020 ⓘ$3.3M$4.5M79.8%$14M$173,013

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b22 · 21 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 623

Private foundation grants it received

11 private foundations reported grants to The Virginia Foundation for Community College Education totaling $903K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from The Virginia Foundation for Community College Education's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The Virginia Foundation for Community College Education, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Virginia

Questions people ask

How much of The Virginia Foundation for Community College Education's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, The Virginia Foundation for Community College Education reported that 87.1% of its $8.1 million in expenses went to program services, 7.3% to management and general and 5.6% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does The Virginia Foundation for Community College Education get its money?

Of $10.2 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 78.9% came from contributions and grants (including 23.6% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is The Virginia Foundation for Community College Education a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 23-7004354 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202611289349300026 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202501349349309655 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202411349349300846 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202321329349307082 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202211339349306476 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202141379349304744 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 23-7004354: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.