Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Southern Univerty System

Baton Rouge, LA · EIN 23-7052911 · 501(c)(3) · Organization operated for a governmental college or university
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Southern Univerty System reported $21.0 million in revenue and $13.7 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $51.27 went to program services, $43.23 to management and general costs and $5.50 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 82.3% of the total. Revenue rose 83% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $14M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $21M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
51.3%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
43.2%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
5.5%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.04$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
82.3%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
8.1%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported8
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
26.913.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
21 of 21100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$7.0M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $124K

The organization's primary exempt purpose is to promote the educational and cultural welfare of southern university and a&m college system and to provide additional resources for the benefit of the university system, to encourage, solicit, receive, and administer gifts and request of property and funds for scientific, educational and charitable purposes, all for the advancement of the southern university system

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M20192021202220232024$21M$14M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$21M$14M51.3%$31M—
2023 ⓘ$17M$14M45.0%$25M$236,020
2022 ⓘ$17M$12M54.8%$21M$236,020
2021 ⓘ$13M$7.9M52.9%$17M$236,020
2019 ⓘ$11M$12M81.1%$9.2M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b21 · 21 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 53

Private foundation grants it received

16 private foundations reported grants to Southern Univerty System totaling $620K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Southern Univerty System's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Southern Univerty System, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Louisiana

Questions people ask

How much of Southern Univerty System's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Southern Univerty System reported that 51.3% of its $13.7 million in expenses went to program services, 43.2% to management and general and 5.5% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Southern Univerty System get its money?

Of $21.0 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 82.3% came from contributions and grants and 8.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Southern Univerty System a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 23-7052911 as a 501(c)(3) organization (organization operated for a governmental college or university), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202523219349318502 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443239349301659 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202323199349323647 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202233079349301548 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202013219349320486 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 23-7052911: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.