Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

The Fort Lewis College Foundation

Durango, CO · EIN 23-7122114 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

The Fort Lewis College Foundation reported $15.5 million in revenue and $9.1 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $87.27 went to program services, $9.55 to management and general costs and $3.18 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 53.3% of the total. Revenue rose 134% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $9.1M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $15M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
87.3%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
9.6%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
3.2%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.03$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
53.3%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.5%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.3%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
92.813.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
26 of 26100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$7.9M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $7.7M · revenue $55,299

Funds are raised for the benefit of the students, faculty, and administration of Fort Lewis College. The foundation raises resources that directly fuel opportunities for Fort Lewis College students and our community. This includes support for students through increased scholarships and experiential learning funding for internships, fieldwork, travel, and programs like Fort Lewis on the water. The foundation also raises funding aimed at supporting student success through innovative summer bridge programs offering additional academic and social support for students. The springboard fellowships…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$15M$9.1M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$15M$9.1M87.3%$70M—
FY2024 ⓘ$27M$9.4M92.3%$64M—
FY2023 (amended) ⓘ$13M$7.3M92.8%$47M—
FY2022 ⓘ$11M$7.0M91.7%$38M—
FY2021 ⓘ$4.8M$3.1M85.0%$38M—
FY2020 ⓘ$6.6M$3.1M89.4%$32M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b26 · 26 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 628

Private foundation grants it received

27 private foundations reported grants to The Fort Lewis College Foundation totaling $2.9M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from The Fort Lewis College Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The Fort Lewis College Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Colorado

Questions people ask

How much of The Fort Lewis College Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, The Fort Lewis College Foundation reported that 87.3% of its $9.1 million in expenses went to program services, 9.6% to management and general and 3.2% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does The Fort Lewis College Foundation get its money?

Of $15.5 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 53.3% came from contributions and grants (including 0.5% from government grants) and 0.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is The Fort Lewis College Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 23-7122114 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202610449349302401 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202540929349300449 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023 (amended), object 202512139349300016 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202340409349301364 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202102959349300825 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202110719349301286 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 23-7122114: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.