Charity Impact Media

Home › Crime & legal-related

Louisville & Jefferson County Public Defender Corporation

Also known as Louisville Metro Public Defender

Louisville, KY · EIN 23-7129726 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Louisville & Jefferson County Public Defender Corporation reported negative $28,348 in revenue and $602,732 in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $1.16 went to program services, $98.84 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Revenue fell 100% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $603K

For context, the median across 274 covered crime & legal-related charities: $87.85 programs, $11.30 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 274 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
1.2%86.7%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
98.8%11.1%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
Not reported94.8%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
Not reported50.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
Not reported0.7%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$245,814
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.41%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
102.66.4
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$7,000 expenses · 100.0% of program spending

The sole activity of the Louisville & Jefferson County public defender corporation was rendering legal services pursuant to court appointment in Jefferson County, kentucky, to indigent adults and juveniles accused of crimes and status offenses, and to those who were subjected to involuntary hospitalization due to mental illness. With the passage of hb 568 by the kentucky legislature on march 16, 2023, the legal services provided by Louisville & Jefferson County public defender corporation were terminated as of june 30, 2024. The kentucky department of advocacy ("dpa") provides those legal…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ−$28,348$603K1.2%$5.2M—
FY2024 ⓘ$12M$12M98.0%$5.8M$177,699
FY2023 ⓘ$11M$8.0M97.4%$5.3M$164,535
FY2022 ⓘ$9.4M$12M98.5%$2.5M$153,183
FY2021 ⓘ$9.4M$8.6M98.0%$5.1M$150,308
FY2020 ⓘ$9.3M$9.1M98.1%$4.3M$149,657

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5105

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Louisville & Jefferson County Public Defender Corporation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Louisville & Jefferson County Public Defender Corporation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Louisville & Jefferson County Public Defender Corporation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Louisville & Jefferson County Public Defender Corporation reported that 1.2% of its $602,732 in expenses went to program services, 98.8% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Louisville & Jefferson County Public Defender Corporation get its money?

Of negative $28,348 in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, -0.0% came from contributions and grants and -0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Louisville & Jefferson County Public Defender Corporation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 23-7129726 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202641329349303859 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202521359349301442 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202431369349304663 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202341329349304939 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202241369349308629 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202111389349300326 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 23-7129726: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.