Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

North Texas Higher Education Authority

Arlington, TX · EIN 23-7133739 · 501(c)(3) · Supporting organization (509(a)(3))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

North Texas Higher Education Authority reported $64.7 million in revenue and $81.1 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $60.85 went to program services, $39.15 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 85.4% of the total. Revenue rose 121% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $81M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $65M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
60.9%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
39.1%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
85.4%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
34.613.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
6 of 6100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$49M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $55M

Student Loan Programs: provide funds mostly through issuance of bonds for the purchase and life of loan servicing of FFELP and private student loans at the post secondary level 103547 loans outstanding

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$65M$81M60.9%$234M—
FY2024 ⓘ$71M$65M82.5%$247M—
FY2023 ⓘ$54M$46M79.6%$211M—
FY2022 ⓘ$27M$28M71.2%$202M—
FY2021 ⓘ$22M$17M63.8%$205M—
FY2020 ⓘ$29M$25M78.3%$200M$231,636

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b6 · 6 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from North Texas Higher Education Authority's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for North Texas Higher Education Authority, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of North Texas Higher Education Authority's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, North Texas Higher Education Authority reported that 60.9% of its $81.1 million in expenses went to program services, 39.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does North Texas Higher Education Authority get its money?

Of $64.7 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 85.4% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is North Texas Higher Education Authority a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 23-7133739 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization (509(a)(3))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, object 202601279349300310 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2024, object 202521279349300707 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2023, object 202411239349301686 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2022, object 202300809349300900 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2021, object 202210599349301106 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2020, object 202130639349300808 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 23-7133739: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.