Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Texas A&M University - Kingsville Foundation

Kingsville, TX · EIN 23-7166534 · 501(c)(3) · Organization operated for a governmental college or university
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Texas A&M University - Kingsville Foundation reported $14.1 million in revenue and $8.3 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $80.16 went to program services, $15.42 to management and general costs and $4.42 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 66.8% of the total. Revenue rose 44% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $8.3M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
80.2%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
15.4%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
4.4%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.09$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
28.5%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
246.313.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
19 of 19100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$6.7M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $5.8M

The Foundation was formed to provide support to the University. It fulfills that mission by assisting in the solicitation of donations from businesses, other foundations and individuals; the proceeds are intended to support students, faculty and programs at the University. The Foundation receives, invests and administers donations and makes funds available to the University for scholarships, research, faculty and department support

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$20M$40M$60M$80M201920202021202220232024$14M$8.3M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$14M$8.3M80.2%$171M—
2023 ⓘ$42M$7.5M80.3%$156M—
2022 ⓘ$9.6M$5.9M77.8%$103M—
2021 ⓘ$50M$5.7M69.2%$123M—
2020 ⓘ$9.9M$5.5M77.0%$109M—
2019 ⓘ$9.8M$5.4M77.4%$97M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b19 · 19 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 511

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
LCG Associates
Investment Management
$140,933

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

11 private foundations reported grants to Texas A&M University - Kingsville Foundation totaling $5.3M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Texas A&M University - Kingsville Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Texas A&M University - Kingsville Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Texas

Questions people ask

How much of Texas A&M University - Kingsville Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Texas A&M University - Kingsville Foundation reported that 80.2% of its $8.3 million in expenses went to program services, 15.4% to management and general and 4.4% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Texas A&M University - Kingsville Foundation get its money?

Of $14.1 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 28.5% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Texas A&M University - Kingsville Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 23-7166534 as a 501(c)(3) organization (organization operated for a governmental college or university), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202533189349303298 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202530179349301018 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202343179349310244 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202203189349305880 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202143059349301979 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202022869349301802 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 23-7166534: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.