Charity Impact Media

Home › Health care

Johns Hopkins Hospital Endowment Fund

Baltimore, MD · EIN 23-7252596 · 501(c)(3) · Supporting organization (509(a)(3))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Johns Hopkins Hospital Endowment Fund reported $14.5 million in revenue and $58.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $88.95 went to program services, $4.07 to management and general costs and $6.98 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 94.6% of the total. Revenue rose 31% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $59M

For context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $15M

Other revenue was negative: −$195K. The bar shows the positive sources only.

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,634 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
89.0%85.6%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
4.1%13.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
7.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$4.19$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
6.7%1.3%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%93.7%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$975,831
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.34%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
027
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
184.06.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
10 of 1088.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$52M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $52M

The Johns Hopkins Hospital Endowment fund, inc. (the fund) supports the Johns Hopkins Hospital, Johns Hopkins bayview medical center, Johns Hopkins medical services corporation and howard county general hospital. The fund supports the activities of these organizations such as patient care, capital projects, research and education

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$20M$40M$60M$80MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$15M$59M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$15M$59M89.0%$897M—
FY2024 ⓘ$16M$32M79.9%$850M—
FY2023 ⓘ$14M$34M80.5%$799M—
FY2022 ⓘ$12M$26M73.7%$795M—
FY2021 ⓘ$11M$22M71.6%$928M—
FY2020 ⓘ$11M$27M71.1%$711M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b10 · 10 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY
Investment advisory
$968,436

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Johns Hopkins Hospital Endowment Fund totaling $12,500 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Johns Hopkins Hospital Endowment Fund's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Johns Hopkins Hospital Endowment Fund, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All health care charities · Largest charities in Maryland

Questions people ask

How much of Johns Hopkins Hospital Endowment Fund's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Johns Hopkins Hospital Endowment Fund reported that 89.0% of its $58.5 million in expenses went to program services, 4.1% to management and general and 7.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Johns Hopkins Hospital Endowment Fund get its money?

Of $14.5 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 6.7% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Johns Hopkins Hospital Endowment Fund a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 23-7252596 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization (509(a)(3))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202601349349302595 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202521339349301607 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202401319349300630 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202311319349302501 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202201309349300040 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202131339349301518 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 23-7252596: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.