Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Bishops University Foundation

Canada, · EIN 23-7253795 · 501(c)(3) · Supporting organization (509(a)(3))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2026 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Bishops University Foundation reported $10.2 million in revenue and $5.8 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2026. Of every $100 it spent, $96.29 went to program services, $3.71 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 55.5% of the total. Revenue rose 91% between FY2021 and FY2026. Source: Form 990, FY2026.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending April 30, 2026 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $5.8M

For context, the median across 5,498 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending April 30, 2026 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $10M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2026 filing. Median across 5,498 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2026Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
96.3%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
3.7%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
44.5%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
07
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
150.013.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
18 of 18100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2026 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$5.6M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $5.1M · revenue $10M

To provide financial assistance to Bishops University in the form of scholarships and bursaries library funding research funding athletic funding and miscellaneous funding for student programs and projects

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025FY2026$10M$5.8M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2026 ⓘ$10M$5.8M96.3%$72M—
FY2025 ⓘ$8.9M$5.4M96.7%$66M—
FY2024 ⓘ$5.2M$5.3M98.7%$60M—
FY2023 ⓘ$9.2M$9.1M99.3%$58M—
FY2022 ⓘ$11M$5.0M101.0%$60M—
FY2021 ⓘ$5.3M$5.9M98.5%$63M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2026 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b18 · 18 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 625

Largest outside contractors

FY2026 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
Burgundy Asset Management
Investment Management
$178,418
Brookfield Asset Management
Investment Management
$131,465

Individuals listed as contractors are left out.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Bishops University Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Bishops University Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in

Questions people ask

How much of Bishops University Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending April 30, 2026, Bishops University Foundation reported that 96.3% of its $5.8 million in expenses went to program services, 3.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Bishops University Foundation get its money?

Of $10.2 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending April 30, 2026, 44.5% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Bishops University Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 23-7253795 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization (509(a)(3))). Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2026: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2026, object 202602549349300500 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2025, object 202610489349300501 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2024, object 202412549349300101 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2023, object 202312569349300601 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2022, object 202222559349300002 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2021, object 202103169349306825 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 23-7253795: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.