Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Cuyahoga Community College Foundation

Cleveland, OH · EIN 23-7320719 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Cuyahoga Community College Foundation reported $13.0 million in revenue and $10.7 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $91.71 went to program services, $4.09 to management and general costs and $4.20 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 56.8% of the total. Revenue rose 38% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $11M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
91.7%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
4.1%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
4.2%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.06$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
56.8%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
134.413.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
62 of 62100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$4.0M expenses · 40.6% of program spending · grants $4.0M

Scholarship program: although the college's tuition is the lowest in northeast ohio, there are students in our community who, without financial assistance, cannot access or continue their education, especially those pursuing a short-term certificate that is ineligible for federal aid. Scholarships enable thousands of students to access and obtain their college education, often reducing the time it takes to graduate. Over a five-year period (fy2021-2025), 20,346 scholarships totaling $24.8 million were awarded to tri-c students. The average scholarship was $1,500. Growing scholarship…

$5.8M expenses · 59.4% of program spending · grants $5.8M

Educational development: tri-c foundation supports developing and enhancing educational programs in response to workforce and student needs. A tri-c education is designed to meet the educational, cultural and economic needs of our communities through innovative programming, especially for high demand careers in creative arts, hospitality management, information technology, manufacturing, nursing and health professions, and public safety. High-quality, industry-relevant courses, and comprehensive, hands-on training ensure that students gain a competitive edge to prepare for success in today's…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$13M$11M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$13M$11M91.7%$120M—
FY2024 ⓘ$9.0M$11M91.8%$110M—
FY2023 ⓘ$8.6M$8.9M89.2%$102M—
FY2022 ⓘ$20M$10M90.9%$95M—
FY2021 ⓘ$16M$9.0M91.5%$108M—
FY2020 ⓘ$9.5M$7.8M87.6%$86M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b62 · 62 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Private foundation grants it received

43 private foundations reported grants to Cuyahoga Community College Foundation totaling $2.7M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Cuyahoga Community College Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Cuyahoga Community College Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Ohio

Questions people ask

How much of Cuyahoga Community College Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Cuyahoga Community College Foundation reported that 91.7% of its $10.7 million in expenses went to program services, 4.1% to management and general and 4.2% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Cuyahoga Community College Foundation get its money?

Of $13.0 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 56.8% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Cuyahoga Community College Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 23-7320719 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202640869349300944 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202500939349300235 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202430949349300213 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202310389349301501 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202240499349300924 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202120489349300717 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 23-7320719: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.