Charity Impact Media

Home › Health care

Chinese Progressive Association

Oakland, CA · EIN 23-7404756 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Chinese Progressive Association reported $22.9 million in revenue and $18.3 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $77.50 went to program services, $17.10 to management and general costs and $5.40 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 94.5% of the total. Government grants made up 12.1%. Revenue rose 236% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $18M

For context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $23M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 5,634 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
77.5%85.6%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
17.1%13.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
5.4%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.05$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
94.5%1.3%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
12.1%0.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.9%93.7%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$975,831
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.34%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
027
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
20.56.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
6 of 688.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$11M expenses · 78.9% of program spending · grants $1.2M · revenue $209K

Cpa's fiscal sponsorship program further supports community education, promotes civic participation, and provides direct services, such as access to healthy food, language access, and community garden. Other cpa programs include a structured voter education of youth and adults to promote civic participation

$1.8M expenses · 12.8% of program spending · revenue $4,700

The community healing & solidarity program engages, educates, and organizes working-class communities of color to develop class-based interventions and alternatives to public safety. Over 150 community members engaged in political education, intergenerational and cultural exchanges, and restorative justice training to have generative dialogue around safety, healing and solidarity. Chs also builds strategic multi-racial alliances to respond to community needs around violence, safety, healing, and accountability while strengthening regional and national grassroots capacity to collaborate and…

$750K expenses · 5.3% of program spending

Tenant worker center (twc) - conducts outreach and education to low-wage immigrant workers and sro tenants about san francisco and ca labor laws and tenant rights, provides consultation on workplace violations and referral to legal and other support services. In 2024, twc educated over 7,000 workers and provided consultation and support services to over 200 workers and sro tenants

$423K all other programs (line 4d)

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M201920202021202220232024$23M$18M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$23M$18M77.5%$31M—
2023 ⓘ$23M$18M81.3%$27M$6,656
2022 ⓘ$20M$23M90.5%$23M—
2021 ⓘ$18M$12M80.0%$26M—
2020 ⓘ$27M$12M74.9%$20M$96,767
2019 ⓘ$6.8M$5.8M86.0%$5.0M$92,176

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b6 · 6 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 6553

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
RESILIENT STRATEGIES LLC
Management fees
$18,279,136
CIVITAS PUBLIC AFFAIRS GROUP
Public affairs campaigns
$362,076
A NEW HOPE CONSULTING
Program management
$199,128
INPARTNERSHIP CONSULTING INC
Faciliation and strategic planning
$177,682
SB DIGITAL
Black agenda ad campaign
$147,500

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 5 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

32 private foundations reported grants to Chinese Progressive Association totaling $12M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Chinese Progressive Association's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Chinese Progressive Association, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All health care charities · Largest charities in California

Questions people ask

How much of Chinese Progressive Association's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Chinese Progressive Association reported that 77.5% of its $18.3 million in expenses went to program services, 17.1% to management and general and 5.4% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Chinese Progressive Association get its money?

Of $22.9 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 94.5% came from contributions and grants (including 12.1% from government grants) and 0.9% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Chinese Progressive Association a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 23-7404756 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202503189349300335 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202423199349319082 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202313189349319436 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202223189349306202 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202103209349300005 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202042959349300149 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 23-7404756: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.