Charity Impact Media

Home › Human services

Stones River Manor

Murfreesboro, TN · EIN 23-7445264 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2025 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Stones River Manor reported $12.6 million in revenue and $12.6 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $80.50 went to program services, $19.50 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 96.6% of the total. Revenue rose 44% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $13M

For context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2025 filing. Median across 3,614 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
80.5%87.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
19.5%11.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
2.4%20.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%2.4%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
96.6%70.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$274,992
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.18%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
06
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
3.96.9
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
37 of 37100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$1.7M expenses · 16.5% of program spending

Provide shelter and food for approzimately 95 residents in an assisted living setting in individual rooms and in apartment units

$253K expenses · 2.5% of program spending

Provide residents with activities such as arts and crafts in order to promote interaction with other residents

$46,279 expenses · 0.5% of program spending

Provide hair care services for residents

$8.2M all other programs (line 4d)

7 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M2019202020212022202320242025$13M$13M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2025 ⓘ$13M$13M80.5%$4.1M—
2024 ⓘ$13M$12M80.6%$4.1M—
2023 ⓘ$12M$11M81.1%$3.9M—
2022 ⓘ$10M$11M81.1%$3.5M—
2021 ⓘ$12M$11M78.2%$4.6M—
2020 ⓘ$10M$11M78.6%$3.7M—
2019 ⓘ$8.8M$9.2M77.8%$4.0M—

Governance answers, as filed

2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b37 · 37 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Stones River Manor's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Stones River Manor, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All human services charities · Largest charities in Tennessee

Questions people ask

How much of Stones River Manor's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2025, Stones River Manor reported that 80.5% of its $12.6 million in expenses went to program services, 19.5% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Stones River Manor get its money?

Of $12.6 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 2.4% came from contributions and grants and 96.6% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Stones River Manor a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 23-7445264 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202601349349310560 · read the filing · XML
  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202521619349300332 · read the filing
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202421629349300702 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202321519349300827 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202201589349300900 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202101679349301430 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202001679349302090 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 23-7445264: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.