Home › Mental health & crisis intervention
Southwest Behavioral CARE
Southwest Behavioral CARE reported $17.3 million in revenue and $17.3 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $87.55 went to program services, $12.45 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 63.7% of the total. Government grants made up 35.5%. Revenue rose 29% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $17MFor context, the median across 864 covered mental health & crisis intervention charities: $86.13 programs, $13.87 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $17MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 87.5% | 85.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 12.5% | 13.7% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 35.5% | 26.4% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 35.5% | 14.5% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 63.7% | 69.3% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $324,111 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 5.2 | 6.2 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 9 of 9 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseSubstance abuse disorders - approximately 3,661individuals received over 32,882 hours of outpatient treatment, case management services and other supportive services
Mental health - over 59,892 hours of outpatient treatment, case management and other supportive services were provided to approximately 3,914 individuals and families throughout westmoreland, fayette and washington counties. Additionally, another 2,671 hours of mental health residential services were provided to approximately 146 individuals with mental health disorders and 13 individuals received 1,544 days of residential care
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b9 · 9 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 5336
- Volunteers Part I, line 69
Largest outside contractors
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| SOUTHWESTERN PA HUMAN SERVICES INC Operations | $5,294,817 |
| COMPREHENSIVE COMMUNITY SERVICES Operations/rent | $595,775 |
| DELL MARKETING LP Minor equip/sup | $176,491 |
| QUALIFACTS SYSTEMS LLC Software | $167,396 |
| CARE CENTER Operations | $157,146 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 5 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Southwest Behavioral CARE's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Southwest Behavioral CARE, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Southwest Behavioral CARE spent in FY2025, $87.55 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- West Central Mental Health Center Inc. Dba Solvista HealthCanon City, CO · revenue $17M · programs 90.6% · FY2025
- Portage Path Behavioral HealthAkron, OH · revenue $17M · programs 91.0% · FY2025
- CASA EsperanzaMalden, MA · revenue $17M · programs 73.0% · FY2025
- Elmcor Youth & Adult ActivitiesCorona, NY · revenue $17M · programs 86.9% · FY2025
- Discovery Institute for Addictive DisordersMarlboro, NJ · revenue $17M · programs 72.2% · FY2025
All mental health & crisis intervention charities · Largest charities in Pennsylvania
Questions people ask
How much of Southwest Behavioral CARE's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Southwest Behavioral CARE reported that 87.5% of its $17.3 million in expenses went to program services, 12.5% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Southwest Behavioral CARE get its money?
Of $17.3 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 35.5% came from contributions and grants (including 35.5% from government grants) and 63.7% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Southwest Behavioral CARE a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 25-1633753 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202621349349313487 · read the filing
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202521359349306442 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421359349309547 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202321319349304652 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202231369349310968 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202111379349307286 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 25-1633753: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.