Charity Impact Media

Home › Youth development

Boys & Girls Club of Central Texas

Killeen, TX · EIN 26-2132885 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Boys & Girls Club of Central Texas reported $10.0 million in revenue and $10.0 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $91.22 went to program services, $6.32 to management and general costs and $2.46 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 1.9% of the total. Revenue rose 31% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $10.0M

For context, the median across 212 covered youth development charities: $83.69 programs, $11.78 management, $4.53 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $10M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 212 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
91.2%82.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
6.3%11.6%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
2.5%4.5%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.07
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
1.9%80.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
1.3%5.5%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%6.6%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$274,234
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.76%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
06
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.615.4
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
14 of 14100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$9.1M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

Provided educational and physical training to youth

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920202021202220232024$10M$10.0M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$10M$10.0M91.2%$487K—
2023 ⓘ$7.8M$9.1M90.8%$463K—
2022 ⓘ$8.7M$8.3M90.9%$1.8M—
2021 ⓘ$6.3M$5.4M90.7%$1.4M—
2020 (amended) ⓘ$6.1M$5.3M90.6%$458K—
2019 ⓘ$7.6M$7.7M90.7%−$379K—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b14 · 14 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Private foundation grants it received

3 private foundations reported grants to Boys & Girls Club of Central Texas totaling $183K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Boys & Girls Club of Central Texas's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Boys & Girls Club of Central Texas, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All youth development charities · Largest charities in Texas

Questions people ask

How much of Boys & Girls Club of Central Texas's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Boys & Girls Club of Central Texas reported that 91.2% of its $10.0 million in expenses went to program services, 6.3% to management and general and 2.5% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Boys & Girls Club of Central Texas get its money?

Of $10.0 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 1.9% came from contributions and grants (including 1.3% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Boys & Girls Club of Central Texas a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 26-2132885 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202513209349301551 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202423209349323667 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202303179349306545 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202213219349300431 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020 (amended), object 202303179349307630 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202032829349301758 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 26-2132885: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.