Charity Impact Media

Home › Health care

Indiana University Health Tipton Hospital

Indianapolis, IN · EIN 26-2772226 · 501(c)(3) · Hospital or medical research organization
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Indiana University Health Tipton Hospital reported $49.1 million in revenue and $45.0 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $95.85 went to program services, $4.15 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 94.3% of the total. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $1,194,795 (Director / PRESIDENT (ISR)). Revenue rose 10% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $45M

For context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $49M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 5,634 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
95.8%85.6%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
4.2%13.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.1%1.3%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
94.3%93.7%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
$1,194,795$975,831
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
2.65%1.34%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported27
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
18.56.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 788.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$43M expenses · 99.0% of program spending · revenue $46M

Iu Health Tipton Hospital is a 25-bed acute-care and critical access hospital that offers a broad range of services to care for its patients without regard to their ability to pay. Iu Health Tipton Hospital provides leading-edge, patient-centered care, as well as personalized nursing care, in a wide range of medical specialties to residents of tipton county and its surrounding communities

$343K expenses · 0.8% of program spending · revenue $367K

Pharmacy services: our network of pharmacies offers the ease of "one-stop" shopping. With services designed to meet your needs, we will provide expert care and help patients make the best use of their medications

$71,251 expenses · 0.2% of program spending · revenue $76,420

Iu Health Tipton Hospital, inc. Receives "shared services" revenue by sharing/providing services with Indiana University Health care associates, inc., Indiana University Health north hospital, inc., and Indiana University Health, inc

$38,858 all other programs (line 4d)

Highest reported compensation

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here
RoleFrom this orgFrom related orgsOtherTotal
Director / PRESIDENT (ISR)
Officer, 10.0 hrs/week
$0$1,000,489$194,306$1,194,795
FORMER KEY EMPLOYEE
Former, 0.0 hrs/week
$0$848,653$170,264$1,018,917
REGIONAL CMO (ISR)
Key employee, 10.0 hrs/week
$0$483,240$74,251$557,491
CFO (ISR)
Officer, 10.0 hrs/week
$0$351,618$66,113$417,731
VP, COO (ISR)
Key employee, 15.0 hrs/week
$0$347,418$55,603$403,021
REGIONAL VP-HR (ISR)
Key employee, 10.0 hrs/week
$0$285,807$47,003$332,810
Former Highest Compensated Employee
Former, 0.0 hrs/week
$0$275,836$46,483$322,319
VP-CNO (ISR)
Key employee, 10.0 hrs/week
$0$283,501$35,494$318,995

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$49M$45M95.8%$70M$1,194,795
2023 ⓘ$47M$45M95.9%$70M$1,084,751
2022 ⓘ$52M$47M96.4%$65M$1,108,568
2021 ⓘ$56M$46M96.1%$61M$1,280,531
2020 ⓘ$50M$44M80.5%$48M$960,709
2019 ⓘ$45M$41M81.2%$40M$895,806

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5246
  • Volunteers Part I, line 664

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Indiana University Health Tipton Hospital's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Indiana University Health Tipton Hospital, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Indiana University Health Tipton Hospital's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Indiana University Health Tipton Hospital reported that 95.8% of its $45.0 million in expenses went to program services, 4.2% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

How much does Indiana University Health Tipton Hospital pay its top executive?

The largest total compensation Indiana University Health Tipton Hospital reported for one person in calendar year 2024 was $1,194,795, for the role of Director / PRESIDENT (ISR) (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).

Where does Indiana University Health Tipton Hospital get its money?

Of $49.1 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 0.1% came from contributions and grants and 94.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Indiana University Health Tipton Hospital a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 26-2772226 as a 501(c)(3) organization (hospital or medical research organization), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202523179349308552 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202403179349306585 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202343189349316484 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202233189349309943 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202143149349304954 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202013189349303486 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 26-2772226: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.