Mater Academy Foundation
Mater Academy Foundation reported $21.2 million in revenue and $39.4 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $99.58 went to program services, $0.42 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 90.6% of the total. Revenue rose 133% between 2019 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $39MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $21MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 99.6% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 0.4% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | Not reported | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 0.3% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 90.6% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 1.2 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 4 of 4 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseMater Academy Foundation inc provides support to Mater Academy charter school to enchance and maximize the education experience for every child enrolled. The Mater Academy Foundation strives to enrich the lives of mater students, teachers and parents by providing scholarship for enhanced educational opportunities and funding for outreach. Mater Academy Foundation provides funding for college scholarships, summer enrichment grants, college tours, teacher mini-grants, field trips, uniform assistance, backpacks and school supplies, special projects and other community initiatives
5 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 51
Largest outside contractors
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| BDI CONSTRUCTION COMPANY Construction | $6,384,991 |
| REO WORKFORCE INC Construction | $3,285,412 |
| MIAMI SCHOOL GROUP LLC Facility rental | $2,256,842 |
| CAMCON GROUP Construction | $1,994,795 |
| TURIN CONSTRUCTION GROUP Construction | $1,950,460 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 13 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Mater Academy Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Mater Academy Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Mater Academy Foundation spent in FY2025, $99.58 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- TalkingpointsSan Francisco, CA · revenue $21M · programs 84.9% · FY2025
- Alliance for College-Ready Public Schools Facilities CorporationLos Angeles, CA · revenue $21M · programs 100.0% · FY2025
- Children of Fallen Patriots FoundationReston, VA · revenue $21M · programs 83.1% · 2025
- Northpointe Christian SchoolsGrand Rapids, MI · revenue $21M · programs 85.9% · FY2025
- New York Academy of SciencesNew York, NY · revenue $21M · programs 80.0% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Mater Academy Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Mater Academy Foundation reported that 99.6% of its $39.4 million in expenses went to program services, 0.4% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Mater Academy Foundation get its money?
Of $21.2 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.3% came from contributions and grants and 90.6% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Mater Academy Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 26-3039409 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization (509(a)(3))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202600509349301410 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202541199349302089 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202410209349300701 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202340889349300314 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202023219349309942 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 26-3039409: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.