Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Advanced Learning Charter School

Also known as Hive Preparatory School

Miami Gardens, FL · EIN 26-3762954 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Advanced Learning Charter School reported $14.2 million in revenue and $11.8 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $78.33 went to program services, $21.67 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 89.8% of the total. Government grants made up 10.2%. Revenue rose 73% between FY2021 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
78.3%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
21.7%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
10.2%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
10.2%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
89.8%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported8
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
4.813.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
5 of 5100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
— expenses

Provide education to children through a Charter School

$9.2M all other programs (line 4d)

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$14M$12M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$14M$12M78.3%$4.7M—
FY2024 ⓘ$11M$11M71.1%$2.4M$203,186
FY2023 ⓘ$12M$10M71.0%$2.3M$158,329
FY2022 ⓘ$9.1M$9.4M78.9%$507K$155,934
FY2021 ⓘ$8.2M$8.5M72.8%$827K$130,000

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5143

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
PALMETTO
$1,167,800
BRIDGEROCK EDUCATION LLC
Education mgt.
$762,311
NUTRISPA
Lunch service
$412,176
UHS PREMIUN
$343,719
DELL MARKETING LP
$315,506

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 7 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Advanced Learning Charter School's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Advanced Learning Charter School, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Florida

Questions people ask

How much of Advanced Learning Charter School's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Advanced Learning Charter School reported that 78.3% of its $11.8 million in expenses went to program services, 21.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Advanced Learning Charter School get its money?

Of $14.2 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 10.2% came from contributions and grants (including 10.2% from government grants) and 89.8% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Advanced Learning Charter School a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 26-3762954 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202631179349302003 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202531329349306683 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202401359349308790 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202330749349301858 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202220079349302062 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 26-3762954: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.