Academir Charter School
Academir Charter School reported $55.0 million in revenue and $54.3 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $100.00 went to program services, $0.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 79.5% of the total. Revenue rose 158% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $54MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $55MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 100.0% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 79.5% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 20.1% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 4.4 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 4 of 4 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 5305
Private foundation grants it received
1 private foundation reported grants to Academir Charter School totaling $34 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Academir Charter School's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Academir Charter School, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Academir Charter School spent in FY2025, $100.00 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Achievement FirstNew Haven, CT · revenue $55M · programs 82.6% · FY2025
- Flint Hill SchoolOakton, VA · revenue $55M · programs 90.0% · FY2025
- Orange County Head StartSanta Ana, CA · revenue $55M · programs 86.4% · FY2025
- The Pierpont Morgan LibraryNew York, NY · revenue $55M · programs 79.6% · FY2025
- University Surgical AssociatesProvidence, RI · revenue $55M · programs 83.9% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Academir Charter School's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Academir Charter School reported that 100.0% of its $54.3 million in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Academir Charter School get its money?
Of $55.0 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 79.5% came from contributions and grants and 20.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Academir Charter School a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 27-1986282 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202503219349300610 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202500979349300530 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202322899349302397 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202222909349301802 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202133199349330103 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202022879349300012 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 27-1986282: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.