Home › Public & societal benefit
Unite America Institute
Unite America Institute reported $20.6 million in revenue and $15.5 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $84.92 went to program services, $6.20 to management and general costs and $8.88 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Revenue rose 1000% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $15MFor context, the median across 185 covered public & societal benefit charities: $88.81 programs, $11.18 management, $0.01 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $21MInvestment income was negative: −$19,134. The bar shows the positive sources only.
The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 84.9% | 84.9% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 6.2% | 10.7% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 8.9% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.07 | $0.01 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 100.0% | 83.8% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 3.2% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $357,133 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.52% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 12 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 10.0 | 10.5 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 3 of 3 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseProgrammatic grantmaking:the institute conducts diligence on potential grants that carry out its mission through the support of programs and scholarly research that strengthen the field of nonpartisan organizations working to address political polarization
Educational outreach: the institute disseminates nonpartisan educational materials (including books, videos, op-eds, and white papers) explaining public policy issues and analyzing proposed solutions to the media, the public, policymakers, and aligned nonpartisan organizations
Research: the institute conducts its own original research on the root causes, effects, and potential solutions to political polarization. The focus of the research is on primary elections and nonpartisan election refinements such as instant runoff voting and open primaries. The institute also engages in grantmaking to other research institutions and vendors to conduct research on similar topics related to public policy
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 65
Largest outside contractors
2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| POLESTAR INC Management services | $4,084,040 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
13 private foundations reported grants to Unite America Institute totaling $4.7M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Unite America Institute's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Unite America Institute, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Unite America Institute spent in 2024, $84.92 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Amvets National Service FoundationRockville, MD · revenue $20M · programs 84.8% · FY2025
- Vietnam Veterans of San DiegoSan Diego, CA · revenue $22M · programs 86.0% · FY2025
- Colorado Regional Health Information OrganizationDenver, CO · revenue $20M · programs 76.6% · 2024
- Local Government CorporationColumbia, TN · revenue $22M · programs 81.2% · FY2025
- Veterans Multi-Service CenterPhiladelphia, PA · revenue $20M · programs 89.4% · FY2025
All public & societal benefit charities · Largest charities in Colorado
Questions people ask
How much of Unite America Institute's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Unite America Institute reported that 84.9% of its $15.5 million in expenses went to program services, 6.2% to management and general and 8.9% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Unite America Institute get its money?
Of $20.6 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 100.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Unite America Institute a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 27-3001286 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202533219349308488 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443209349310599 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202333199349304523 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202243189349320039 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202113159349303071 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202013219349318951 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 27-3001286: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.