Home › International, foreign affairs & national security
Tov Vchesed Foundation
Tov Vchesed Foundation reported $13.9 million in revenue and $15.8 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $90.21 went to program services, $2.95 to management and general costs and $6.84 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Revenue rose 65% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $16MFor context, the median across 469 covered international, foreign affairs & national security charities: $89.04 programs, $8.28 management, $2.68 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 90.2% | 86.1% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 3.0% | 8.0% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 6.8% | 2.6% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.08 | $0.03 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 100.0% | 96.6% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $341,362 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.06% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 10 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | -3.7 | 7.5 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 3 of 3 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 511
- Volunteers Part I, line 64
Largest outside contractors
2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| INCREASE FUNDING Consulting | $359,000 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
3 private foundations reported grants to Tov Vchesed Foundation totaling $106K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Tov Vchesed Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Tov Vchesed Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Tov Vchesed Foundation spent in 2024, $90.21 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Pyxera GlobalWashington, DC · revenue $14M · programs 57.5% · FY2025
- Freedom AllianceWinchester, VA · revenue $14M · programs 90.7% · 2025
- The Christian Relief FundAmarillo, TX · revenue $14M · programs 91.0% · FY2025
- Cultural Homestay InternationalSan Rafael, CA · revenue $14M · programs 84.0% · FY2025
- Urgent Action Fund for Feminist ActivismAlameda, CA · revenue $14M · programs 87.9% · 2024
All international, foreign affairs & national security charities · Largest charities in New York
Questions people ask
How much of Tov Vchesed Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Tov Vchesed Foundation reported that 90.2% of its $15.8 million in expenses went to program services, 3.0% to management and general and 6.8% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Tov Vchesed Foundation get its money?
Of $13.9 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 100.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Tov Vchesed Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 27-3994158 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202503189349301855 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023 (amended), object 202543219349314519 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202323199349311037 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021 (amended), object 202343199349311709 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202200469349301735 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202023219349318772 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 27-3994158: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.