Charity Impact Media

Home › Public & societal benefit

Alameda County Tobacco Asset Securitization Corporation

Oakland, CA · EIN 30-0033960 · 501(c)(3) · Supporting organization (509(a)(3))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Alameda County Tobacco Asset Securitization Corporation reported $15.1 million in revenue and $20.0 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $99.96 went to program services, $0.04 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 91.9% of the total. Revenue fell 4% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $20M

For context, the median across 185 covered public & societal benefit charities: $88.81 programs, $11.18 management, $0.01 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $15M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 185 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
100.0%84.9%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%10.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%83.8%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
91.9%3.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$357,133
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.52%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
012
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
-171.610.5
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
0 of 4100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$20M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

The organization is a public benefit corporation established to assist the County of Alameda, California to securitize amounts due the County from the future receipt of tobacco settlement proceeds. In 2002, the organization purchased the rights of the County to future tobaccco settlement revenue and simultaneously sold these rights to the issuer of tobacco revenue bonds sold to the general public. Such bonds secured by the future tobacco settlement revenue

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$15M$20M100.0%−$286M—
FY2024 ⓘ$16M$20M100.0%−$281M—
FY2023 ⓘ$17M$19M100.0%−$277M—
FY2022 ⓘ$19M$19M100.0%−$275M—
FY2021 ⓘ$18M$19M100.0%−$274M—
FY2020 ⓘ$16M$19M99.9%−$273M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 0 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Alameda County Tobacco Asset Securitization Corporation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Alameda County Tobacco Asset Securitization Corporation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Alameda County Tobacco Asset Securitization Corporation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Alameda County Tobacco Asset Securitization Corporation reported that 100.0% of its $20.0 million in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Alameda County Tobacco Asset Securitization Corporation get its money?

Of $15.1 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 91.9% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Alameda County Tobacco Asset Securitization Corporation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 30-0033960 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization (509(a)(3))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202601319349305450 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202521349349313307 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202441369349309669 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202340129349303424 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202230409349301888 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202111099349301721 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 30-0033960: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.