Charity Impact Media

Home › Housing & shelter

Georgia Southern University Housing Foundation

Statesboro, GA · EIN 30-0037158 · 501(c)(3) · Supporting organization (509(a)(3))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Georgia Southern University Housing Foundation reported $10.6 million in revenue and $8.3 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $97.60 went to program services, $2.40 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 82.3% of the total. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $547,698 (PRESIDENT). Revenue fell 27% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $8.3M

For context, the median across 933 covered housing & shelter charities: $89.27 programs, $10.73 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 933 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
97.6%87.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
2.4%10.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%17.0%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
82.3%66.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
$547,698$300,863
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
6.56%1.57%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported5
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
53.710.0
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
5 of 8100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$8.1M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $605K · revenue $8.7M

To acquire, construct or improve student housing facilities or other student facilities for Georgia Southern University

Highest reported compensation

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here
RoleFrom this orgFrom related orgsOtherTotal
PRESIDENT
Director/trustee, officer, 0.50 hrs/week
$0$495,000$52,698$547,698
TREASURER
Director/trustee, officer, 0.50 hrs/week
$0$299,500$81,422$380,922
ASSISTANT TR
Officer, 1.00 hrs/week
$0$238,158$68,708$306,866
DIRECTOR
Director/trustee, 0.50 hrs/week
$0$254,249$44,313$298,562
SECRETARY
Officer, 1.00 hrs/week
$0$204,440$62,521$266,961
ASSISTANT TR
Former
$0$145,718$0$145,718

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$11M$8.3M97.6%$37M$547,698
FY2024 ⓘ$10M$10M98.3%$35M$541,523
FY2023 ⓘ$10M$9.6M98.2%$34M$515,647
FY2022 ⓘ$10M$8.8M98.1%$33M$484,021
FY2021 ⓘ$13M$17M98.8%$33M$488,268
FY2020 ⓘ$15M$11M98.4%$36M$353,628

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b8 · 5 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Georgia Southern University Housing Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Georgia Southern University Housing Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Georgia Southern University Housing Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Georgia Southern University Housing Foundation reported that 97.6% of its $8.3 million in expenses went to program services, 2.4% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

How much does Georgia Southern University Housing Foundation pay its top executive?

The largest total compensation Georgia Southern University Housing Foundation reported for one person in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 was $547,698, for the role of PRESIDENT (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).

Where does Georgia Southern University Housing Foundation get its money?

Of $10.6 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 82.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Georgia Southern University Housing Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 30-0037158 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization (509(a)(3))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202503099349303820 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202500919349301675 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202343199349304959 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202213329349301031 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202143159349304014 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202043169349303699 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 30-0037158: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.