Charity Impact Media

Home › Human services

Westminster Village West Lafayette

West Lafayette, IN · EIN 31-1002846 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Westminster Village West Lafayette reported $30.9 million in revenue and $34.4 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $88.16 went to program services, $11.84 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 95.3% of the total. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $174,116 (DIRECTOR OF ACCOUNTING). 10 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue rose 30% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $34M

For context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $31M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 3,614 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
88.2%87.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
11.8%11.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%20.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%2.4%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
95.3%70.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
$174,116$274,992
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
0.51%1.18%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
106
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
-5.76.9
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
9 of 9100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$30M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $2,207 · revenue $30M

Westminster Village West Lafayette, inc. Is a not-for-profit, life plan community located in West Lafayette, indiana. Facilities include 110 residential units (independent living center), 54 independent living cottages, 54 hybrid homes, a 72 bed comprehensive care facility (the health center), and a 58 bed assisted living facility. Westminster's primary purpose is the provision of continuing care services to the citizens of West Lafayette, indiana and the surrounding communities

$0 expenses · revenue −$50,000

The village provides care to residents who meet certain criteria under its financial assistance policy without charge. The key element used to determine eligibility is the resident's inability to pay their monthly charges as documented in an application that requires them to report total monthly income and total assets and is approved by management and the board. Because the village does not pursue collection of amounts determined to qualify for financial assistance, they are not reported as revenue. The village has estimated its direct and indirect costs of providing financial assistance…

$0 expenses

Consistent with the mission statement of the village, the village is committed to providing programs, services and contributions (both in kind and financial) that target the resident population at the village, as well as to benefit the broader community. In addition to the financial assistance, the village provides community services that include, but are not limited to educational programs, transportation and church relations all targeted towards enhancing the quality of life of the residents. The cost of these programs and services are included in operating expenses

Highest reported compensation

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here
RoleFrom this orgFrom related orgsOtherTotal
DIRECTOR OF ACCOUNTING
Highest compensated employee, 40.00 hrs/week
$148,039$0$26,077$174,116
DIRECTOR OF NURSING
Highest compensated employee, 40.00 hrs/week
$132,965$0$31,143$164,108
DIRECTOR OF MARKETING
Highest compensated employee, 40.00 hrs/week
$129,828$0$18,175$148,003
DIRECTOR OF MARKETING
Highest compensated employee, 40.00 hrs/week
$134,843$0$5,639$140,482
PLANT OPS DIRECTOR
Highest compensated employee, 40.00 hrs/week
$123,198$0$13,769$136,967

10 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation from Westminster Village West Lafayette (Part VII, line 2). Compensation of current officers, directors and key employees totaled $272K (Part IX, line 5).

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$31M$34M88.2%−$16M$174,116
FY2024 ⓘ$30M$33M85.9%−$12M$158,936
FY2023 ⓘ$25M$28M87.6%−$9.5M$138,459
FY2022 ⓘ$24M$26M86.9%−$9.9M$133,240
FY2021 ⓘ$26M$26M86.6%−$12M$127,911
FY2020 ⓘ$24M$25M87.8%−$11M$126,210

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b9 · 9 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5477
  • Volunteers Part I, line 6100

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Westminster Village West Lafayette totaling $83 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Westminster Village West Lafayette's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Westminster Village West Lafayette, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Westminster Village West Lafayette's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Westminster Village West Lafayette reported that 88.2% of its $34.4 million in expenses went to program services, 11.8% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

How much does Westminster Village West Lafayette pay its top executive?

The largest total compensation Westminster Village West Lafayette reported for one person in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 was $174,116, for the role of DIRECTOR OF ACCOUNTING (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).

Where does Westminster Village West Lafayette get its money?

Of $30.9 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 95.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Westminster Village West Lafayette a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 31-1002846 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202630379349301663 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202500649349300030 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202431009349300903 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202330529349300348 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202200809349301165 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202110349349300331 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 31-1002846: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.