Charity Impact Media

Home › Human services

Ena

Cincinnati, OH · EIN 31-1551803 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Ena reported $27.7 million in revenue and $21.4 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $87.40 went to program services, $12.60 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 86.3% of the total. Revenue fell 30% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $21M

For context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $28M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 3,614 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
87.4%87.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
12.6%11.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
1.9%20.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
1.9%2.4%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
86.3%70.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$274,992
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.18%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
06
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
16.56.9
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
6 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$19M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $24M

Treatment services (rtx) provide a time limited, interdisciplinary, psycho-educational, therapeutic 24-hour-a-day structured program with community linkages, provided through non-coercive, coordinated, individualized care, specialized services and interventions. Residential treatment centers provide highly customized care and services to individuals following either a community based placement or more intensive intervention, with the aim of moving individuals toward a stable, less intensive level of care or independence

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$20M$40M$60M$80MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$28M$21M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$28M$21M87.4%$29M—
FY2024 ⓘ$22M$21M88.8%$23M—
FY2023 ⓘ$47M$44M89.6%$22M—
FY2022 ⓘ$46M$42M89.2%$20M—
FY2021 ⓘ$43M$40M88.0%$16M—
FY2020 ⓘ$40M$36M93.0%$13M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 6 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26Yes
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5296

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
CARVAKA
Management services
$2,001,649

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Ena totaling $26 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Ena's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Ena, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All human services charities · Largest charities in Ohio

Questions people ask

How much of Ena's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Ena reported that 87.4% of its $21.4 million in expenses went to program services, 12.6% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Ena get its money?

Of $27.7 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 1.9% came from contributions and grants (including 1.9% from government grants) and 86.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Ena a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 31-1551803 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202631359349305048 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202521359349303522 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421319349304852 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202301329349305250 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202201369349307780 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202101379349308160 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 31-1551803: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.