Holzer Medical Center - Jackson
Holzer Medical Center - Jackson reported $35.1 million in revenue and $26.9 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $95.22 went to program services, $4.78 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 99.4% of the total. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $648,360 (CEO - HHS). 14 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue rose 20% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $27MFor context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $35MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 95.2% | 85.6% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 4.8% | 13.7% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | Not reported | $0.00 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 1.3% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 99.4% | 93.7% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | $648,360 | $975,831 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | 2.41% | 1.34% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 14 | 27 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | -1.0 | 6.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 1 of 7 | 88.9% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseThe hospital accepts all patients regardless of their ability to pay. A patient is classified as a charity patient by reference to certain established policies of the hospital. In assessing a patient's inability to pay, the hospital compares incurred charges with generally recognized poverty income levels and the patient's financial resources. Because the hospital does not expect to receive payment for amounts determined to qualify as charity care, these amounts are not reported as net patient service revenues.consistent with its mission, the hospital provides community services intended to…
Highest reported compensation
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here| Role | From this org | From related orgs | Other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CEO - HHS Officer, 1.00 hrs/week | $0 | $637,605 | $10,755 | $648,360 |
| CFO - HHS Officer, 1.00 hrs/week | $0 | $399,506 | $7,990 | $407,496 |
| PHYSICIAN Highest compensated employee, 50.00 hrs/week | $374,292 | $0 | $6,542 | $380,834 |
| PHYSICIAN Highest compensated employee, 50.00 hrs/week | $314,056 | $0 | $5,860 | $319,916 |
| PHYSICIAN Highest compensated employee, 50.00 hrs/week | $305,676 | $0 | $4,888 | $310,564 |
| PHYSICIAN Highest compensated employee, 50.00 hrs/week | $208,616 | $0 | $3,653 | $212,269 |
| TRUSTEE Director/trustee, 1.00 hrs/week | $0 | $202,833 | $3,121 | $205,954 |
| PHARMACIST Highest compensated employee, 50.00 hrs/week | $173,998 | $0 | $4,961 | $178,959 |
14 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation from Holzer Medical Center - Jackson (Part VII, line 2).
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 1 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 5257
- Volunteers Part I, line 65
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Holzer Medical Center - Jackson's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Holzer Medical Center - Jackson, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Holzer Medical Center - Jackson spent in FY2025, $95.22 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Questions people ask
How much of Holzer Medical Center - Jackson's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Holzer Medical Center - Jackson reported that 95.2% of its $26.9 million in expenses went to program services, 4.8% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
How much does Holzer Medical Center - Jackson pay its top executive?
The largest total compensation Holzer Medical Center - Jackson reported for one person in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 was $648,360, for the role of CEO - HHS (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).
Where does Holzer Medical Center - Jackson get its money?
Of $35.1 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 99.4% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Holzer Medical Center - Jackson a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 31-1724085 as a 501(c)(3) organization (hospital or medical research organization), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202611349349304841 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202521269349302657 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421209349301102 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202331229349300618 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202211339349304451 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202141379349300899 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 31-1724085: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.