Charity Impact Media

Home › Diseases, disorders & medical disciplines

Sightsavers International

Boston, MA · EIN 31-1740776 · 501(c)(3) · Supporting organization (509(a)(3))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2025 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Sightsavers International reported $216.2 million in revenue and $216.2 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $99.99 went to program services, $0.01 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Revenue rose 11% between 2020 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $216M

For context, the median across 314 covered diseases, disorders & medical disciplines charities: $88.73 programs, $10.89 management, $0.38 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $216M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2025 filing. Median across 314 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
100.0%86.7%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%10.6%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.4%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.03
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
100.0%24.7%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.6%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%59.5%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$391,657
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.45%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
010
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.07.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$216M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $216M

Sightsavers International, inc. Supported Sightsavers International uk, which supports projects benefiting blind and visually impaired people in developing countries

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$100M$200M$300M$400M202020212022202320242025$216M$216M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2025 ⓘ$216M$216M100.0%$143K—
2024 ⓘ$228M$228M100.0%$143K—
2023 ⓘ$281M$281M100.0%$142K—
2022 ⓘ$236M$236M100.0%$142K—
2021 ⓘ$154M$154M100.0%$141K—
2020 ⓘ$194M$194M100.0%$141K—

Governance answers, as filed

2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 67

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Sightsavers International's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Sightsavers International, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All diseases, disorders & medical disciplines charities · Largest charities in Massachusetts

Questions people ask

How much of Sightsavers International's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2025, Sightsavers International reported that 100.0% of its $216.2 million in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Sightsavers International get its money?

Of $216.2 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 100.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Sightsavers International a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 31-1740776 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization (509(a)(3))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202631539349301653 · read the filing · XML
  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202541399349301359 · read the filing
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202441139349301609 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202301049349301870 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202241949349301214 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202111609349300336 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 31-1740776: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.