Charity Impact Media

Home › Health care

Holzer Hospital Foundation

Also known as Holzer

Gallipolis, OH · EIN 31-4379491 · 501(c)(3) · Hospital or medical research organization
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Holzer Hospital Foundation reported $239.6 million in revenue and $210.7 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $93.16 went to program services, $6.84 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 98.9% of the total. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $648,360 (CEO - HHS). 59 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue rose 27% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $211M

For context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $240M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,634 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
93.2%85.6%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
6.8%13.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%1.3%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
98.9%93.7%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
$648,360$975,831
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
0.31%1.34%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
5927
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
3.86.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
1 of 888.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$196M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $237M

The hospital accepts all patients regardless of their ability to pay. A patient is classified as a charity patient by reference to certain established policies of the hospital. In assessing a patient's inability to pay, the hospital compares incurred charges with generally recognized poverty income levels and the patient's financial resources. Because the hospital does not expect to receive payment for amounts determined to qualify as charity care, these amounts are not reported as net patient service revenues. Consistent with its mission, the hospital provides community services intended to…

Highest reported compensation

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here
RoleFrom this orgFrom related orgsOtherTotal
CEO - HHS
Officer, 1.00 hrs/week
$0$637,605$10,755$648,360
TRUSTEE - MEDICAL STAFF PRESIDENT
Director/trustee, 1.00 hrs/week
$0$532,550$9,162$541,712
CFO - HHS
Officer, 1.00 hrs/week
$0$399,506$7,990$407,496
TRUSTEE
Director/trustee, 1.00 hrs/week
$0$202,833$3,121$205,954
PHARMACIST
Highest compensated employee, 50.00 hrs/week
$181,666$0$24,274$205,940
CLINICAL INFORMATICS PHARMACIST
Highest compensated employee, 50.00 hrs/week
$177,541$0$25,298$202,839
VP-AMBULATORY SERVICES
Highest compensated employee, 50.00 hrs/week
$184,732$0$3,695$188,427
PHARMACIST-MGR RETAIL
Highest compensated employee, 50.00 hrs/week
$177,854$0$3,765$181,619

59 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation from Holzer Hospital Foundation (Part VII, line 2).

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$240M$211M93.2%$66M$648,360
FY2024 ⓘ$245M$207M93.3%$79M$752,081
FY2023 ⓘ$221M$181M92.5%$84M$677,833
FY2022 ⓘ$212M$169M92.9%$84M$869,717
FY2021 ⓘ$203M$161M94.1%$81M$719,695
FY2020 ⓘ$189M$153M94.3%$71M$789,870

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b8 · 1 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 51,796
  • Volunteers Part I, line 635

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Holzer Hospital Foundation totaling $1,386 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Holzer Hospital Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Holzer Hospital Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Holzer Hospital Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Holzer Hospital Foundation reported that 93.2% of its $210.7 million in expenses went to program services, 6.8% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

How much does Holzer Hospital Foundation pay its top executive?

The largest total compensation Holzer Hospital Foundation reported for one person in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 was $648,360, for the role of CEO - HHS (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).

Where does Holzer Hospital Foundation get its money?

Of $239.6 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 98.9% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Holzer Hospital Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 31-4379491 as a 501(c)(3) organization (hospital or medical research organization), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202631349349302613 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202541269349302589 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202401209349300925 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202311229349301501 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202241339349304364 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202121379349302177 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 31-4379491: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.