Charity Impact Media

Home › Unclassified

Pilot Dogs Alloway

Columbus, OH · EIN 31-4393243 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Pilot Dogs Alloway reported $10.5 million in revenue and $4.3 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $47.66 went to program services, $52.34 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 98.3% of the total. Revenue rose 466% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $4.3M

For context, the median across 2,433 covered unclassified charities: $88.27 programs, $11.68 management, $0.05 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 2,433 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
47.7%86.7%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
52.3%11.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
98.3%29.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%3.8%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
1.6%58.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$301,601
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.38%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported6
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
53.36.8
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
15 of 15100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$2.1M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

Pilot Dogs provides expertly-trained guide dogs, orientation and mobility training, and other valuable services to those in need, including veterans of the military, individuals who are legally blind, and students in our school resource program. Pilot Dogs is 100% donor-funded. Donations of time and money allow US to help strengthen our nation's communities by empowering some of its most vulnerable citizens to navigate the world with greater independence, safety, and dignity. Although we were founded by only a few citizens, we could not have expanded our impactful services without our…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920202021202220232024$11M$4.3M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$11M$4.3M47.7%$19M—
2023 ⓘ$4.4M$3.9M88.3%$13M—
2022 ⓘ$2.8M$3.8M89.6%$13M—
2021 ⓘ$1.5M$2.3M83.5%$13M—
2020 ⓘ$2.9M$1.8M81.6%$14M$153,923
2019 ⓘ$1.9M$2.2M71.8%$12M$150,034

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b15 · 15 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 555
  • Volunteers Part I, line 696

Private foundation grants it received

7 private foundations reported grants to Pilot Dogs Alloway totaling $29,394 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Pilot Dogs Alloway's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Pilot Dogs Alloway, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All unclassified charities · Largest charities in Ohio

Questions people ask

How much of Pilot Dogs Alloway's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Pilot Dogs Alloway reported that 47.7% of its $4.3 million in expenses went to program services, 52.3% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Pilot Dogs Alloway get its money?

Of $10.5 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 98.3% came from contributions and grants and 1.6% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Pilot Dogs Alloway a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 31-4393243 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202513189349305161 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202402639349300315 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202401849349300810 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202421179349301872 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202143199349324294 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202033239349300923 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 31-4393243: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.