Home › Arts, culture & humanities
Columbus Symphony Orchestra
Columbus Symphony Orchestra reported $13.0 million in revenue and $11.8 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $73.27 went to program services, $20.03 to management and general costs and $6.70 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 72.0% of the total. Government grants made up 10.2%. Revenue rose 77% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12MFor context, the median across 876 covered arts, culture & humanities charities: $79.98 programs, $13.89 management, $6.13 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M- Contributions & grants (non-government)$61.36 $8.1M
- Government grants$10.15 $1.3M
- Program service revenue$19.53 $2.6M
- Investment income$8.96 $1.2M
Other revenue was negative: −$86,829. The bar shows the positive sources only.
The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 73.3% | 78.5% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 20.0% | 13.6% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 6.7% | 6.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.08 | $0.10 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 72.0% | 57.5% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 10.2% | 1.7% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 19.7% | 20.8% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $385,706 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 2.03% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 81.5 | 36.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 28 of 28 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense2024-25 indoor concerts included the masterworks series, with 12 programs (24 performances), and a series of special pops concerts (5 programs/7 performances), which included the holiday pops spectacular and a program featuring the orchestra performing the score live along with screening of batman 1989. Total attendance for concerts in these series was 48,158
The 2025 picnic with the pops and popcorn pops outdoor concert series in the columbus commons included nine (9) concert programs, which were attended by 17,769 individuals
Cso education programs in the 2024 to 2025 season include a broad range of offerings designed to serve students, educators, and lifelong learners. Classroom programs include young people's concerts, in school concerts, the mindful music moments program, ensemble coaching, chamber performances, and an in school residency program.cso also supports four youth ensembles, youth orchestra, repertory orchestra, chamber strings, and junior strings, as well as a youth orchestra european tour. The academy provides intensive training for students of diverse backgrounds who aspire to pursue careers in…
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b28 · 28 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 5240
- Volunteers Part I, line 6393
Largest outside contractors
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| COLUMBUS ASSOCIATION FOR THE PERFORMING Management fees | $357,001 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 2 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
15 private foundations reported grants to Columbus Symphony Orchestra totaling $554K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Columbus Symphony Orchestra's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Columbus Symphony Orchestra, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Columbus Symphony Orchestra spent in FY2025, $73.27 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Sanford Laboratories for Innovative MedicinesSan Diego, CA · revenue $13M · programs 79.3% · 2025
- Scottsdale ArtsScottsdale, AZ · revenue $13M · programs 71.2% · FY2025
- Marbles Kids MuseumRaleigh, NC · revenue $13M · programs 65.7% · FY2025
- German International School New YorkWhite Plains, NY · revenue $13M · programs 80.0% · FY2025
- Newport Festivals FoundationManchesterbythesea, MA · revenue $13M · programs 83.6% · FY2025
All arts, culture & humanities charities · Largest charities in Ohio
Questions people ask
How much of Columbus Symphony Orchestra's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, Columbus Symphony Orchestra reported that 73.3% of its $11.8 million in expenses went to program services, 20.0% to management and general and 6.7% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Columbus Symphony Orchestra get its money?
Of $13.0 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, 72.0% came from contributions and grants (including 10.2% from government grants) and 19.7% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Columbus Symphony Orchestra a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 31-6402408 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, object 202641969349302094 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2024, object 202511969349302481 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2023, object 202411979349301166 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2022, object 202331989349300218 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2021, object 202201969349302500 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2020, object 202101969349301200 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 31-6402408: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.