Charity Impact Media

Home › International, foreign affairs & national security

American Friends of Libi

Brighton, MA · EIN 32-0081620 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2025 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

American Friends of Libi reported $8.1 million in revenue and $8.5 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $98.34 went to program services, $1.66 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 98.5% of the total. Revenue rose 92% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $8.5M

For context, the median across 469 covered international, foreign affairs & national security charities: $89.04 programs, $8.28 management, $2.68 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $8.1M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2025 filing. Median across 469 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
98.3%86.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
1.7%8.0%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%2.6%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.03
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
98.5%96.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$341,362
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.06%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
010
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.77.5
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
10 of 10100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$1.5M expenses · 17.4% of program spending · grants $8.4M

Yahad foundation - enhance the educational, medical, and social care of soldiers

$1.5M expenses · 17.5% of program spending

Israeli air force assoc - enhance the educational, medical, and social care of soldiers

$1.7M expenses · 19.8% of program spending

Atidim - closing socioeconomic gaps between israel's underserved geographic periphery and its central economic hubs

$3.8M all other programs (line 4d)

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920212022202320242025$8.1M$8.5M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2025 ⓘ$8.1M$8.5M98.3%$483K—
2024 ⓘ$11M$11M98.8%$821K—
2023 ⓘ$14M$13M99.3%$644K—
2022 ⓘ$4.7M$5.0M99.4%$381K—
2021 ⓘ$4.5M$4.3M100.0%$728K—
2019 ⓘ$4.2M$4.2M100.0%$204K—

Governance answers, as filed

2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b10 · 10 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Private foundation grants it received

33 private foundations reported grants to American Friends of Libi totaling $2.3M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from American Friends of Libi's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for American Friends of Libi, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All international, foreign affairs & national security charities · Largest charities in Massachusetts

Questions people ask

How much of American Friends of Libi's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2025, American Friends of Libi reported that 98.3% of its $8.5 million in expenses went to program services, 1.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does American Friends of Libi get its money?

Of $8.1 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 98.5% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is American Friends of Libi a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 32-0081620 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202642249349300134 · read the filing
  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202522889349302857 · read the filing
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443209349316384 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202313219349300341 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202242139349300029 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202232139349300858 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 32-0081620: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.