Ohio Aerospace Institute
Ohio Aerospace Institute reported $24.2 million in revenue and $23.2 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $93.35 went to program services, $6.65 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 97.6% of the total. Revenue rose 74% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $23MFor context, the median across 192 covered science & technology charities: $84.33 programs, $15.67 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $24MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 93.3% | 83.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 6.7% | 15.5% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | Not reported | $0.00 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 0.6% | 51.6% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 3.2% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 97.6% | 19.2% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $513,729 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.72% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 27 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 3.7 | 14.7 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 6 of 7 | 94.3% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseAerospace research with specialized research teams in the areas of computational modeling, materials, structures, vehicle health monitoring and safety and space science and exploration technologies. Building and managing collaboration, consortia and publicprivate partnership neutral. Unbiased management. Workforce development: internships, scholarship, visiting faculty, short courses, education outreach, student and faculty engagement with industry and federal labs. Economic based technology development, transfer ano commercialization and leveraging aerospace network (Ohio Aerospace industry…
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 6 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
Largest outside contractors
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| TKE (TK ELEVATOR CORP) Elevator | $240,857 |
| THE GEOPFERT COMPANY Boilers | $173,596 |
| REDBIRD FLIGHT SIMULATIONS Flight simulato | $153,766 |
| MCCAULLEY & COMPANY LLC Strategic plann | $120,000 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 4 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Ohio Aerospace Institute's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Ohio Aerospace Institute, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Ohio Aerospace Institute spent in FY2025, $93.35 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- National Strategic Research InstituteLincoln, NE · revenue $24M · programs 82.9% · FY2025
- Far AiSan Diego, CA · revenue $24M · programs 87.4% · 2024
- Commonwealth Center for Advanced ManufacturingDisputanta, VA · revenue $23M · programs 50.1% · FY2025
- Woodwell Climate Research CenterFalmouth, MA · revenue $24M · programs 76.3% · FY2025
- University City Science CenterPhiladelphia, PA · revenue $23M · programs 55.2% · 2025
All science & technology charities · Largest charities in Ohio
Questions people ask
How much of Ohio Aerospace Institute's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Ohio Aerospace Institute reported that 93.3% of its $23.2 million in expenses went to program services, 6.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Ohio Aerospace Institute get its money?
Of $24.2 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.6% came from contributions and grants and 97.6% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Ohio Aerospace Institute a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 34-1621676 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization (509(a)(3))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202611349349308876 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202501359349312710 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202401359349306340 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202341359349313859 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202200969349301045 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202111329349302191 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 34-1621676: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.