Charity Impact Media

Home › Human services

Putnam County Comprehensive Services

Greencastle, IN · EIN 35-1299026 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Putnam County Comprehensive Services reported $16.2 million in revenue and $15.6 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $100.00 went to program services, $0.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 99.4% of the total. 1 person received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue rose 24% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $16M

For context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $16M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 3,614 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
100.0%87.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%11.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%20.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%2.4%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
99.4%70.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$274,992
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.18%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
16
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
9.76.9
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$16M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $16M

To serve individuals with mental and physical disabilities or similiar characteristics in order for them to reach their potential through community living, sheltered workshops, and other various programs

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$16M$16M100.0%$13M—
FY2024 ⓘ$17M$16M100.0%$12M—
FY2023 ⓘ$14M$14M100.0%$11M$162,235
FY2022 ⓘ$14M$14M100.0%$11M—
FY2021 ⓘ$14M$13M100.0%$11M$155,219
FY2020 ⓘ$13M$13M100.0%$10M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5537

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Putnam County Comprehensive Services totaling $96 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Putnam County Comprehensive Services's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Putnam County Comprehensive Services, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Putnam County Comprehensive Services's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Putnam County Comprehensive Services reported that 100.0% of its $15.6 million in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Putnam County Comprehensive Services get its money?

Of $16.2 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 99.4% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Putnam County Comprehensive Services a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 35-1299026 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202543169349301344 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202423199349314132 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202333199349301873 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202212879349301436 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202133379349300503 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202101259349300125 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 35-1299026: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.