Indiana University Health North Hospital
Indiana University Health North Hospital reported $524.0 million in revenue and $369.2 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $96.41 went to program services, $3.59 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 93.0% of the total. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $1,194,795 (DIRECTOR / PRESIDENT (ISR)). Revenue rose 79% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $369MFor context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $524MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 96.4% | 85.6% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 3.6% | 13.7% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | Not reported | $0.00 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 1.3% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 93.0% | 93.7% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | $1,194,795 | $975,831 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | 0.32% | 1.34% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 27 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 33.1 | 6.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 8 of 8 | 88.9% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseIU Health North Hospital provides leading family-centered care to Carmel and Hamilton County residents. As a full-service hospital for adults and children with an attached medical office building, IU Health North Hospital brings together physician offices, inpatient beds and operating rooms in a state-of-the-art facility where compassionate caregivers provide superior patient treatment. All patient rooms are private to optimize comfort for each individual and their family, and our wealth of services for adults and children ranges from cardiovascular and orthopedic care to maternity and cancer…
Highest reported compensation
2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here| Role | From this org | From related orgs | Other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DIRECTOR / PRESIDENT (ISR) Director/trustee, officer, 10.0 hrs/week | $0 | $1,000,489 | $194,306 | $1,194,795 |
| FORMER KEY EMPLOYEE Former, 0.0 hrs/week | $0 | $848,653 | $170,264 | $1,018,917 |
| VP-CMO (ISR) Key employee, 30.0 hrs/week | $483,240 | $0 | $74,251 | $557,491 |
| FORMER OFFICER Former, 0.0 hrs/week | $0 | $430,208 | $77,430 | $507,638 |
| CFO (ISR) Officer, 35.0 hrs/week | $0 | $351,618 | $66,113 | $417,731 |
| FORMER KEY EMPLOYEE Former, 0.0 hrs/week | $0 | $355,971 | $52,208 | $408,179 |
| VP, COO (ISR) Key employee, 30.0 hrs/week | $347,418 | $0 | $55,603 | $403,021 |
| DIRECTOR Director/trustee, 2.0 hrs/week | $0 | $316,442 | $39,939 | $356,381 |
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b8 · 8 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 51,619
Private foundation grants it received
1 private foundation reported grants to Indiana University Health North Hospital totaling $38 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Indiana University Health North Hospital's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Indiana University Health North Hospital, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Indiana University Health North Hospital spent in 2024, $96.41 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Yavapai Community Hospital AssociationPhoenix, AZ · revenue $523M · programs 83.1% · FY2025
- Mercy Medical CenterCedar Rapids, IA · revenue $525M · programs 80.5% · FY2025
- Camden-Clark Memorial Hospital CorporationParkersburg, WV · revenue $523M · programs 83.4% · 2024
- St Vincent Infirmary Medical CenterPhoenix, AZ · revenue $525M · programs 93.6% · FY2025
- Dimensions Health CorporationUpper Marlboro, MD · revenue $522M · programs 86.7% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Indiana University Health North Hospital's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Indiana University Health North Hospital reported that 96.4% of its $369.2 million in expenses went to program services, 3.6% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
How much does Indiana University Health North Hospital pay its top executive?
The largest total compensation Indiana University Health North Hospital reported for one person in calendar year 2024 was $1,194,795, for the role of DIRECTOR / PRESIDENT (ISR) (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).
Where does Indiana University Health North Hospital get its money?
Of $524.0 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 93.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Indiana University Health North Hospital a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 35-1932442 as a 501(c)(3) organization (hospital or medical research organization), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202543179349309439 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202423179349306187 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202323189349316042 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202223189349306827 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202113149349304891 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202023189349303287 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 35-1932442: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.