Mount St Joseph
Mount St Joseph reported $10.4 million in revenue and $9.8 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $92.56 went to program services, $7.44 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 72.2% of the total. Revenue rose 44% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $9.8MFor context, the median across 2,433 covered unclassified charities: $88.27 programs, $11.68 management, $0.05 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $10MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 92.6% | 86.7% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 7.4% | 11.5% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.01 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 27.6% | 29.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 3.8% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 72.2% | 58.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $301,601 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.38% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 6 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 13.9 | 6.8 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 5 of 5 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseResidential services: providing intermediate care and a complete residential program for developmentally disabled women over 21 years of age. The residential program provides residential care and training in personal care needs for women with intellectual disabilities. It includes medical servises by a dedicated nursing staff available 24 hours a day. The program also provides services from qualified intellectual disability professionals, social service providers and recreational service providers. This program runs 365 days per year, 24 hours per day. Its license capisity is 129, although…
Developmental training: the mount st. Joseph developmental training program provides individualized care for women with deveolpment disabilities from the residential program. Activities focus on training in areas other than personal care needs. It is licensed by the department of human services
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 5147
- Volunteers Part I, line 640
Private foundation grants it received
2 private foundations reported grants to Mount St Joseph totaling $884 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Mount St Joseph's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Mount St Joseph, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Mount St Joseph spent in FY2025, $92.56 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Brother Bills Helping HandDallas, TX · revenue $10M · programs 96.2% · 2025
- Southwestern Child Development CommissionWebster, NC · revenue $10M · programs 96.8% · FY2025
- TrehabMontrose, PA · revenue $10M · programs 91.8% · FY2025
- Troy Savings Bank Music Hall CorporationTroy, NY · revenue $10M · programs 77.2% · FY2025
- National Indian Health BoardWashington, DC · revenue $10M · programs 77.1% · 2024
Questions people ask
How much of Mount St Joseph's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Mount St Joseph reported that 92.6% of its $9.8 million in expenses went to program services, 7.4% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Mount St Joseph get its money?
Of $10.4 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 27.6% came from contributions and grants and 72.2% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Mount St Joseph a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 36-2639774 as a 501(c)(3) organization (church), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202641459349300904 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202433199349309458 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202420999349301437 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202223489349301307 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202103499349300710 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202023109349302852 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 36-2639774: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.